This database consists of references to geologic field trip guidebooks of North America (U.S., Canada, & Mexico). Most of the guidebooks cited are from the period 1940-present. A few are from earlier years. The database is updated monthly and contains more than 10,000 references.
Once you have found a guidebook, then search the library catalogue by title to see if we have a copy. If we don't then try searching for it in Google or Google Scholar. It might have been digitized and made freely available by the group who organized the field trip.
NEW: Guidebooks from this database are now being digitized and made freely available online in the Geologic Field Trip Guidebook Web Archive (see box above).
Field Guides are individually catalogued in our collection. So, if you know the title of the Field Guide enter that into the catalogue or USearch search box, this should also show if we have a print version as well. If you want to browse all the available publications in each series online then access through the GeoScienceWorld platform (link below). Browse to the book series of interest by selecting Books > Publisher > Book Series.
A full text collection of the journals of leading geoscience organizations. Includes links to GeoRef abstracts. Access Note: GSW includes both direct full text links and indirect full text via CrossRef; when a citation cites only an "abstract" try the "Journal home" link to link to full text the Library subscribes to via the CrossRef initiative.
License Information: There are no restrictions to the number of simultaneous users. Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and to "walk-in" users of the University of Saskatchewan Library for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. It is accessible in the library, on campus, and remotely. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content, including the downloading of a full issue, is not permitted by Canadian and International Copyright law.
Search the Library Catalogue for Field Trip Guidebooks
Try these search terms in the library catalogue:
(guidebook* OR excursion* OR field trip*) AND (geology OR geologic*) AND ([geographic area or interest])