Mechanical Engineering: Journals & Databases

Articles & Databases

General
Mechanical

Engineering Village: EI Engineering Village
Collection of databases covering scientific, applied science, technical and engineering disciplines, earth sciences, ecology, oceanography and more. Contains articles, conference proceedings and full text of engineering handbooks. Includes full-text access to Compendex and Inspec.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
Compendex and Engineering Index Backfile
A "comprehensive bibliographic database of engineering research... containing references and abstracts to over 5,000 engineering journals, conferences and technical reports. The broad subject areas of engineering and applied science are comprehensively represented." Also includes the Engineering Index online backfile from 1884-1969. See also EI Engineering Villiage.
Please Note: Arrangements for permission to text and data mine this resource can be made with the publisher. Contact the library at USask EResources in advance to arrange these permissions.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
Inspec & Inspec Archive
A bibliographic database providing access to the world's scientific literature in electrical engineering, electronics, physics, control engineering, information technology, communications, computers, computing, and manufacturing and production engineering.
Please Note: Arrangements for permission to text and data mine this resource can be made with the publisher. Contact the library at USask EResources in advance to arrange these permissions.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
Scopus
A very large abstract and index database of research literature and quality web sources covering the science, technology, and medicine (STM), and social sciences.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
Web of Science Core Collection
Collection of citation databases, providing abstracts and indexing and cited reference searching to over 10,000 high impact scholarly research journals worldwide, including Open Access journals and over 110,000 conference proceedings, and covering topics in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
ScienceDirect
Science Direct is a portal to scholarly journals, book series, and ebooks published by Elsevier and affiliated publishers primarily covering science, technology, and medicine and the social sciences.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users (at fixed computer terminals in the library), for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.

ASME Digital Collection: American Society of Mechanical Engineers
Collection of transaction journals plus Applied Mechanics Reviews published by the American Society of Mechanical Engineers. Also accessible on the Scitation portal.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
ASTM Compass
Includes access to ASTM's collection of over 12,000 standards, and nearly every other ASTM publication, including books and papers dating back to 1932.

Access Note: Users will be prompted to accept the license agreement the first time in order to access the resource.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.

INIS Repository: International Nuclear Information System
A "comprehensive information reference service for literature on the peaceful applications of nuclear science and technology," compiled by the the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) in collaboration with its Member States and co-operating international organizations.
SubsTech
SubsTech is a free and open-knowledge source on Mechanical Engineering. It contains a wide range of illustrated articles on metals, ceramics, polymers, composites and lubricants, including their properties, applications and technologies for their manufacture.

Finding a journal article

In peer-reviewed journals, the articles are reviewed by other experts in the same field of study before they are published. The published collections of journal articles are stored together in subject databases.

Finding journal articles
1. To locate journal articles you need to search in a subject database for the journal literature in your field (choose from lists to the right.)
2. Once in the database, enter the key concepts that you are looking for, and combine terms you would like to find in the same article.

The U Sask Library subscribes to hundreds of different databases, click here for a complete alphabetical list. If we don't have access to an article that you find, you can still request it for free through our InterLibrary Loan service at no cost to you!

Need help?
Most databases have their own search help page and user guides.
For assistance with searching, please ask reference desk staff. Or you can email library.services@usask.ca.

Access from off-campus

By accessing library resources through the Catalogue or Library website, you will be routed through the proxy and will be prompted to authenticate.

How to authenticate yourself
The Library authentication system requires you to enter your university Network Service ID and password in order to identify you as an authorized user.

The authentication will ask for:

Username: (University NSID - same as PAWS)
Password: (NSID password - same as PAWS)

Questions? Ask Us