Government Information - United Nations: Statistics

A web-based data service bringing together a variety of statistical resources compiled by the United Nations (UN) statistical system and other international agencies.

Access a statistical database that includes worldwide statistics in agriculture, fisheries, forestry, and nutrition compiled by the Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO) of the United Nations. FAOSTAT contains over 1 million time-series records and covers over 200 countries and territories in agriculture, fisheries, forestry, and nutrition. Includes coverage of: Agricultural Machinery, Fertilizer and Pesticides, Fishery Products, Food Balance Sheets, Food Aid Shipments, Forest Products, Land Use and Irrigation, Population, Production, and Trade.

"Statistics is an inherent part of UNCTAD. Being the United Nations' focal point for the integrated treatment of trade and development and the interrelated issues in the areas of finance, technology, investment and sustainable development, UNCTAD compiles, validates and processes a wide range of data collected from national and international sources. Most of the time series cover long periods, with some dating back to 1948, for almost all economies of the world."

It is organised by subject or policy areas. Multi-dimensional tables present data by country, by various socio-economic classifications related to the context, and by time period.

Data is presented under four subject areas:
•Macroeconomic Statistics
•Gender Statistics
•Transport Statistics
•Forestry Statistics

The ESCAP online database includes country-level data related to demography, migration, education, health, poverty, gender, employment, economy, government finance, employment, transport, and environment. The database also includes aggregate data for the world, major geographic regions, ESCAP subregions, income groupings of ESCAP members, ESCAP LDC countries and ESCAP LLDC countries.

A United Nations commodity trade statistics database. Includes annual international trade statistics data detailed by commodities and partner countries from over 140 reporter countries provided to the United Nations Statistics Division (UNSD).

A download limit of 50,000 data records per query is applicable for technical reasons. There is no limit on the number of queries. Users requiring "bulk download" please contact Data Library Services.

The Statistics Division's main functions are:
•the collection, processing and dissemination of statistical information;
•the standardization of statistical methods, classifications and definitions;
•the technical cooperation programme; and
•the coordination of international statistical programmes and activities.

The Division regularly publishes data updates, including the Statistical Yearbook and World Statistics Pocketbook, and books and reports on statistics and statistical methods.

The World Bank provides free access to its Data Catalog, providing download access to over 2,000 indicators from World Bank data sources.