Women's & Gender Studies: WGST 112 (R. Loewen Walker)

Artefact Poster Project

Watch this video before class on September 26

Video: Mapping your research ideas
Consider essay topics for this assignment and then watch this video. Have a blank sheet of paper handy or open a Word document to brainstorm your ideas as you watch it.

Worksheet: Mapping your research
Use this worksheet to map your research after thinking about the topic you've picked and watching the video. The second page provides examples of two ways to organize your ideas in Box 4.

Video: Turning your ideas into a search strategy
The beginning of this video will be a brief review of what you've already done. But it quickly gets into how to use that work in a database.
Guide: Look at an example of how to fill in a concept worksheet
Look at all 4 steps and the final search phrases to use in database search boxes.

Worksheet: Turn your ideas into a search strategy
Fill in this worksheet to prepare some potential database searches.

Archives of Sexuality and Gender
A robust and significant collection of primary sources for the historical study of sex, sexuality, and gender. With material dating back to the sixteenth century, researchers and scholars can examine how sexual norms have changed over time, health and hygiene, the development of sex education, the rise of sexology, changing gender roles, social movements and activism, erotica, and many other interesting topical areas.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
LGBTQ+ Source
Index to literature covering lesbian, gay, bisexual & transgender (LGBT) issues and including the full text of the most important and historically significant LGBT journals, magazines and regional newspapers, as well as dozens of full text monographs.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.

USearch
Use a keyword word or combination of keywords related to your topic such as: Harry Potter gender construction.
*Do not limit to full text.

Academic Search Complete (ASC)
Multi-disciplinary full-text database that includes thousands of peer-reviewed journals.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
Sociological Abstracts
Collection of international literature in sociology, with content from journals, conference papers, and books. Major areas of coverage include radical sociology, substance abuse and addiction, economic development, and mass phenomena and political interactions.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
Google Scholar
You can find the Library's full text holdings in Google Scholar. Just look for the "Get it @ USask Library" link on the right side of the screen, beside each search result.
Access Note: To enable the "Get it @ USask Library" link on your home computer: On the Google Scholar page navigate to "Settings" > "Library links" > Search for University of Saskatchewan > Ensure the checkbox is marked > Save.
This is an Open Access resource freely available on the Internet.

She/her

Email Me

Contact:

candice.dahl@usask.ca
Room 122.16
Murray Library
3 Campus Drive
Saskatoon, SK S7N 5A4

306-966-5926

Subjects: Arts & Humanities, English, Social Sciences, Women's & Gender Studies