Skip to main content

Biology: Find Journal Articles

Selected Journal Collections

A few of the journal collections, relevant to biology, that the library subscribes to:

Search for Articles in Databases

The University Library subscribes to many article indexing databases in all disciplines.  The following are those which are most useful in finding articles on topics in biology.  For a complete list of all databases provided by the library, visit the A-Z List of electronic resources.

Best Databases for Biology:

Other Relevant Databases:

Do we subscribe to the journal you need?

To search by journal title:

  1. change the first drop-down box to "Title"
  2. change the second drop-down box to "All Journal Titles"
  3. enter the full journal title in the search box
  4. Hit the green search button.

**This search will bring up all print and electronic journal titles. If we don't subscribe to the title you need, you can request a copy of the article needed through Interlibrary Loan (it's free!).

Google Scholar

Google Scholar can be a good place to do a quick and general search of the literature in an unfamiliar area. It is also a useful tool to look up full citations of known articles.  

Notices will appear on the right of the search results with links to the UofS FindIt and FullText. For instructions for enabling FindIt, click here.

Google Scholar Search

Off-Campus Proxy Bookmarklet

To connect to any website through the USask proxy, install the USask proxy bookmarklet in your browser for quick access. 

For most browsers, click, drag and drop the blue button below to your bookmarks bar.

Bookmarks/Favourites bar instructions for: 

That's it! Now, when you hit a paywall while researching online simply click on the USask Proxy link in your bookmarks bar and the page will automatically reload to give you access to the full-text version if the library subscribes to it. You will be prompted to login with your NSID and password if you are not already logged in. 

Below is a video tutorial of setting up the Proxy Bookmarklet:

 

Journal Abbreviations

Journal Info