This guide will help you locate USask library services and other resources that are available in the event that USask is experiencing brief or prolonged closure.
Welcome to the Library Research Guide for Biology
This guide is intended to help students and researchers find resources in biology, both in the library and beyond. Please browse by the headings on the left and return often - I update the content of this guide regularly.
Need help finding something? Phone, email, or drop by my office... see my contact info to the right of this box!
The BioCyc web portal from SRI International contains genome and metabolic-pathway information for over 10,000 microbes. BioCyc encyclopedias are unique in integrating a diverse range of data and providing a high level of curation for important microbes. BioCyc curators summarize and synthesize information from thousands of publications, saving scientists time in literature research, and integrating data for large-scale computational analyses.
BioCyc Pathway/Genome Databases (PGDB) describe the genome of an organism, as well as its biochemical pathways and (for a small fraction of organisms) its regulatory network. New releases occur three times per year, often including new databases as well as updated data. Two members of the BioCyc collection, the EcoCyc and MetaCyc databases, are derived from more than three decades of literature-based curation of genome and pathway data. The HumanCyc database provides a curated collection of many human metabolic pathways and enzymes.