Drama : Author Info & Literary Criticism

Context & Background Information

Use these databases to find author information, overviews and reviews of dramatic works.

Theatre in Context
A comprehensive reference tool covering "more than 30,000 plays, over 57,000 people, 5,400 theatres, nearly 22,000 productions and 2,500 production companies" in United States and Canada.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, staff, and alumni of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
Gale Literature
Gale Literature (Formerly Artemis Literary Sources) searches across several literature databases subscribed to by the Library, and provides access to full text literary works, journal articles, criticism, reviews, biographies, and overviews and summaries. Includes Gale Virtual Reference Library, Literature Criticism Online, Literature Resource Center, Scribner Writers, and Twayne's Authors.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
Oxford Reference Online (ORO)
The Premium collection of language and subject reference works published by the Oxford University Press. Search individual titles or across all titles. Oxford Islamic Online database retired June 21, 2022 and is now a part of Oxford Reference Online.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
Proquest One Literature
[Replaces LION] Contains multiple reference materials such as author pages, book reviews,and historic literary criticism as well as journal articles, ebooks, primary texts and more.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.

Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

Dictionary of the theatre: terms, concepts, and analysis

Encyclopaedia Britannica Online: Academic Edition
Comprehensive reference work including content from several resources: Encyclopaedia Britannica and Britannica Concise Encyclopedia articles as well as media, web sites, and videos. Magazines and journals are also available. Also includes dictionary and thesaurus as well as notable quotations from Merriam-Webster's Dictionary & Thesaurus.
Access Note: Mobile app with limited access available for iOS.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
Digital Theatre Plus
The world's leading theatrical performance resource for educators and students. Includes filmed performances of stage productions, in-depth cast and crew interviews, detailed study guides, and more.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.

Encyclopedia of clothing and fashion
Encyclopedia of North American theater
The Oxford companion to American theatre
The Oxford companion to theatre and performance
The Oxford dictionary of plays
Who's who in contemporary world theatre
The world encyclopedia of contemporary theatre
Contains Volume 4: The Arab world and Volume 5: Asia/Pacific.