Drama : Plays & Film Scripts

Plays

Drama Online
Aurora Metro Books consists of contemporary dramas, with a focus on womens drama, international drama, drama in translation, and drama by black and Asian writers.
The Nick Hern Books Modern Plays collection includes plays from preeminent UK and Irish playwrights. It offers a range of widely-studied plays and is continually updated.

Oberon Books Collection features a gathering of canonical and contemporary drama.

Shakespeare Video Collection showcases behind-the-scenes videos, interviews with renowned Shakespeare actors and directors, and controversial adaptations of the Bard. Documentary footage focuses on the Globes status as a unique theatrical institution, while critical commentaries aim to demystify and illuminate Shakespeares most challenging works.

Theatre Making and Performance Video Collection uses masterclasses, documentaries, and actor interviews to guide students through auditioning, vocal training, and stage combat. The How To resources aid those specialising in the design elements of theatre, such as make-up artistry, set design, theatre safety, and lighting.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
Asian American Drama (AAD)
Play scripts by Asian American playwrights, along with related biographical, production, and theatrical information. Coverage from the late 19th century to present.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, staff, and alumni of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
Black Drama: Second Edition
Plays from the 19th century to the present written by Black playwrights from North America, English-speaking Africa, the Caribbean, and other African diaspora countries. Includes previously-unpublished works.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, staff, and alumni of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
Latino Literature: Poetry, Drama, and Fiction
A collection of plays and pages of "prose and poetry by Chicano, Cuban, Puerto Rican, Dominican and other Latin writers working in the United States."
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, staff, and alumni of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
Theatre in Context
A comprehensive reference tool covering over 30,000 plays, 57,000 people, 5,400 theatres, 22,000 productions, and 2,500 production companies in the U.S. and Canada.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, staff, and alumni of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
North American Women's Drama
A collection of over 1000 plays by over 200 North American women playwrights, together with detailed "information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more."
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, staff, and alumni of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
Twentieth Century North American Drama
A collection of over 800 plays by over 100 playwrights writing in North America. Also includes detailed information on "related productions, theaters, production companies, and more."
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, staff, and alumni of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
Internet Shakespeare Editions
Published scholarly resources on Shakespeare include texts (old-spelling transcriptions, modern editions, facsimiles), contexts (contextual bibliographies, background information), and performances (historical and current interpretations of his plays).
This is an Open Access resource freely available on the Internet.

Film Scripts

Film Scripts Online
Authorized versions of movie screenplays. Browsable by genre, people involved, or awards won.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, staff, and alumni of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.

Movie Scripts and Screenplays
Over 9,000 film scripts from Scripts on Screen

University Archives & Special Collections

"University Archives & Special Collections is focused on the acquisition, preservation, and accessibility of permanently valuable records of the University of Saskatchewan; and of books, journals, manuscripts, archival collections and printed ephemera of a rare, valuable or regional nature. The collections include materials relating to Saskatchewan, Western Canada, and the University of Saskatchewan, including works by university authors."

Drama and theatre
This is a listing, with links, of manuscripts and archival collections within the University Archives & Special Collections
Film
This is a listing, with links, of manuscripts and archival collections within the University Archives & Special Collections

Playbill

Playbill: Broadway, Off-Broadway, London News, Theatre Listings
Playbill is a monthly U.S. magazine for theatregoers. Most copies of Playbill are printed for particular productions and distributed at the door. Each issue features articles focussing on actors, new plays and musical or special attractions; that "wraparound" section is the same for all Playbill at all venues each month. Within the wraparound, each Playbill distributed at the theatre door contains information pertinent to the particular production, including: cast biographies, biographies of authors, composers, and production staff; lists of scenes, songs; and a brief description of the setting for the particular show; the number of intermissions; and information for the theatre housing the production. Playbill.com is an open-access site.
Playbill VAULT
Playbill VAULT is an open-access database which contains Broadway theatre production information from 1915 to the present.