Book Reviews: Multidisciplinary Book Review Sources

General or Multidisciplinary Book Reviews

Academic Search Complete (ASC)
Use Advanced Search, limiting document type to Book Review. Note that Film Review and Poetry Review are also selectable document types.

License Information: There are no restrictions to the number of simultaneous users. Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and to walk-in users of the University of Saskatchewan Library for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. It is accessible in the library, on campus, and remotely. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and International Copyright law.
Choice Reviews Online
A database that provides reviews of academic books, electronic media and internet resources. Access note: Timeout will occur after 15 minutes of inactivity.

License Information: There are no limits to the number of simultaneous users. Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and to "walk-in" users of the University of Saskatchewan Library for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. It is accessible in the library, on campus, and remotely. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content, including the downloading of a full issue, is not permitted by Canadian and International Copyright law.
JSTOR
Fulltext archive of core scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences and sciences, as well as 19th century British pamphlets. A unique e-journal database of complete backfiles of core scholarly journals in the arts and sciences.
From Advanced Search, narrow by Item Type "Reviews".

License Information: This license was negotiated by the Canadian Research Knowledge Network. There are no restrictions to the number of simultaneous users. Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, alumni patrons, and "walk-in" users of the University of Saskatchewan Library for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. It is accessible in the library, on campus, and remotely. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content, including the downloading of a full issue, is not permitted by Canadian and International Copyright law.
Project MUSE
Access to the full text of high quality humanities, arts, and social sciences journals from scholarly publishers. MUSE is also the sole source of complete, full-text versions of titles from many of the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies.
From Advanced Search, choose Content Type "Reviews".

License Information: There are no restrictions to the number of simultaneous users. Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, alumni patrons, and to "walk-in" users of the University of Saskatchewan Library for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. It is accessible in the library, on campus, and remotely. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content, including the downloading of a full issue, is not permitted by Canadian and International Copyright law.
Web of Science Core Collection
Collection of nine citation databases, providing abstracts and indexing and cited reference searching to over 10,000 high impact scholarly research journals.
Perform your search. On the Results page, refine your results to "Book Review" under Document Types on the left-hand side, and then click Refine.

License Information: This license was negotiated by the Canadian Research Knowledge Network. There are no restrictions to the number of simultaneous users. Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and to "walk-in" users of the University of Saskatchewan Library for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. It is accessible in the library, on campus, and remotely. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content, including the downloading of a full issue, is not permitted by Canadian and International Copyright law.
Google Scholar
You can find the Library's full text holdings in Google Scholar. Just look for the "FindIt!" or "FullText" links on the right side of the screen, beside each search result.
Access Note: To enable "FindIt!" on your home computer: On the Google Scholar page navigate to "Settings" > "Library links" > search for University of Saskatchewan > ensure all three checkboxes are marked > save.

License Information: This is an Open Access resource freely available on the Internet.

Online Book Reviews Published before 1980

This database is the best online resource to search for book reviews published between 1903 and 1982:

Book Review Digest Retrospective: 1903-1982 (H.W. Wilson)
A database providing excerpts from and citations to adult and juvenile literature across all disciplines and subjects, published between 1903-1982 in H.W. Wilson's Book Review Digest.

License Information: There are no restrictions to the number of simultaneous users. Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and to "walk-in" users of the University of Saskatchewan Library for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. It is accessible in the library, on campus, and remotely. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content, including the downloading of a full issue, is not permitted by Canadian and International Copyright law.

Other useful databases for finding older book reviews:

Gale OneFile CPI.Q (Canadian Periodicals)
A full text database of articles from Canadian and International journals, magazines and reference content from Gale, all with a Canadian focus.
From the Advanced Search page, go to the Select Document Type(s) drop-down and choose Book Review

License Information: This is a Saskatchewan Multitype Library Database Licensing Project (MDLP) license. There are no restrictions to the number of simultaneous users. Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and to walk-in users of the University of Saskatchewan Library for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. It is accessible in the library, on campus, and remotely. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content, including the downloading of a full issue, is not permitted by Canadian and International Copyright law.
JSTOR
Fulltext archive of core scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences and sciences, as well as 19th century British pamphlets. A unique e-journal database of complete backfiles of core scholarly journals in the arts and sciences.
From Advanced Search, narrow by Item Type "Reviews".

License Information: This license was negotiated by the Canadian Research Knowledge Network. There are no restrictions to the number of simultaneous users. Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, alumni patrons, and "walk-in" users of the University of Saskatchewan Library for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. It is accessible in the library, on campus, and remotely. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content, including the downloading of a full issue, is not permitted by Canadian and International Copyright law.

General Source

NoveList Plus
A reader's advisory service for fiction and non-fiction in English, that provides subject heading access, reviews, annotations, series information, curriculum material, and much more for adult titles.

License Information: This is a Saskatchewan Multitype Database Licensing Project (MDLP) license. There are no restrictions to the number of simultaneous users. Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and to walk-in users of the University of Saskatchewan Library for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. It is accessible in the library, on campus, and remotely. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and International Copyright law.

Older Reviews

Book Review Index
Murray Library-Reference Stacks -- Z1035 .A1B72
Selects reviews from a much broader range of periodicals than Book Review Digest. Arranged alphabetically by author's last name with a title index at the back. Journal titles are abbreviated. Full titles are listed at the front and back of each volume.
1965 to present.

Waterloo Directory of English Newspapers and Periodicals: 1800-1900
A directory of 50,000 English language newspapers and periodical publications published in England between 1800-1900. Subjects covered include: Art & Architecture, Children, Feminism, Music, Theatre, Wit & Humour, and Women.

License Information: There are no restrictions to the number of simultaneous users. Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and to "walk-in" users of the University of Saskatchewan Library for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. It is accessible in the library, on campus, and remotely. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content, including the downloading of a full issue, is not permitted by Canadian and International Copyright law.

The Wellesley Index to Victorian Periodicals
Murray Library-Reference Stacks -- Z2005 .H83 1966
Vols. 1-4 list the contents of 43 British periodicals. To find reviews, scan the tables of contents of each journal starting at the year of publications and look for the title of the book you are looking for.
1824-1900