ReconciliAction Resources: Academic Articles & Journals
Academic Journals and Articles
Articles
- Answering the Call: A Guide to Reconciliation for Quantitative Social Scientists.In the summer of 2015, the Truth and Reconciliation Commission of Canada (TRC) delivered a summary of its final report on the history and legacy of Indian residential schools. The commissioners argue that all Canadians have a role to play in the project of reconciliation.
- Reconciliation After Genocide in Canada: Towards a Syncretic Model of Democracy.Despite recent claims by Saul (2008) that Canada’s federal and provincial systems of government, including its justice systems, have been strongly influenced by Aboriginal peoples, this article advances that any influence has been largely coincidental. A detailed critical appraisal of Saul’s work reveals a romanticized glossing over of Aboriginal–settler history rather than a detailed engagement with it.
- Self-Determination as the Basis for Reconciliation: Implementing the UN Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous PeoplesSign into USask Libraries to Access.
In Canada, the initial relationship between the Crown and First Nations was a nation-to-nation one. However, this relationship quickly deteriorated. Between 1857 and 1985, the Colonial and federal government passed various pieces of legislation with strong assimilation intentions. - Intersections of Indigenous and Environmental History in CanadaAn historiographical approach to examining issues related to decolonizing research practices that privilege Indigenous perspectives, differing cultural views of resources and the environment, and the colonizing impacts of industrial and extractive practices on Indigenous communities.
- First Nations in Canada: Decolonization and Self-DeterminationThe purpose of this paper is to examine how the geo-political and policy relationships have evolved between First Nations and the colonial regimes involved in the formation of Canada as a nation; to consider how Canada as an evolving colonial entity has used education as a process of colonization of First Nation communities, families, and children; and to regard decolonization and self-determination as processes in education that can derail oppression in First Nation communities.
- Decolonizing the Media: Challenges and Obstacles on the Road to ReconciliationDiscusses the 3 calls to action issued by the TRC to the news media regarding the news media’s role in shaping public opinion, including a long history of
perpetuating negative stereotypes and under-reporting issues of importance to Indigenous communities.
Databases
- iPortal - Indigenous Studies Portal
Online full text resources for indigenous studies in all the disciplines, including articles, books, book reviews, websites, archival materials, and theses and dissertations.
- Informit Indigenous Collection This link opens in a new windowA collection of current journals, monographs, conference proceedings and reports. Material comes from Australia and New Zealand as well as from Indonesia, Malaysia, North America and the Pacific. It covers both topical and historical issues within Indigenous studies and in the interdisciplinary subjects of anthropology, community development, cultural studies, economics, education, health, history, human geography, law and land rights, literature, politics and policy making, colonial studies, race studies, sociology, and visual and performing arts.
When you access the database, you will have to filter the results only to the Indigenous Collection. - Academic Search Complete (ASC) This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database indexing journals, including thousands of peer-reviewed journals. Abstracts and indexes are also included for monographs, conference proceedings, and reports.
