Skip to main content

ChE 326: Handbooks/Encyclopedias

Introduction

Handbooks and Encyclopedias are useful to consult if you need quick access to data or property information about chemicals, processes, conversions, etc. These are "secondary" or "tertiary" resources that collect information from other authoritative sources such as the primary journal literature.

Selected Handbooks and Encyclopedias

Perry's Chemical Engineers' Handbook Print version / Online version

Perry's is one of the most important resources for chemical engineers. It is organized into three sections: Section 1 contains fundamentals, such as conversion charts; Section 2 contains process data, such as solublity and thermodynamic properties; and Section 3 contains auxiliary information, such as materials and process machinery data.

TIP: When searching in the online version remember to check the box for "Search within this title" (or else you will search all of the AccessEngineering e-book package!)

CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics Print version / Online version

The CRC Handbook provides basic data on unit conversion, physical constants, compounds, properties, symbols & terminology, mathematical tables, practical laboratory data and much more.

Lange's Handbook of Chemistry Print version  / Online version

This handbook includes information on 4,300 organic compounds and is your first stop for basic chemistry information. In addition to basic chemical information, such as structural formula, formula weight, Beilstein reference and density, this book also includes sections on topics such as conversion, mathematics, surface tension, and properties of atoms, radicals, and bond

Chemical Processing Handbook Print version

Updated articles from the Encyclopedia of Chemical Processing and Design.

Other Handbooks for Chemical Engineering in the Library

Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology Print version / Online version

27 volumes. Presents a wide scope of articles on chemical substances—including their properties, manufacturing, and uses. It also focuses on industrial processes and unit operations in chemical engineering, as well as covering fundamentals and scientific subjects related to the field. Additionally, environmental and health issues concerning chemical technology are also addressed.

TIP: When searching in the online version remember to "Search in this book" (or else you will search all of the Wiley e-book package!)

Encyclopedia of Chemical Processing and Design (Editor: McKetta) Print version

This 69 volume set has articles on various aspects of chemical processes and design.

Ullmann's Encyclopedia of Industrial Chemistry Print version

A comprehensive multi-volume reference work detailing the science and technology in all areas of industrial chemistry.