Research Guides: Environment and Sustainability: Using Library Resources: Finding Journal Articles

Finding Journal Articles

To find journal articles, you must consult databases. As mentioned in the second tutorial, databases:

contain information from published works
are searchable
provide either citation information or full-text articles
can be subject/topic specific or multidisciplinary

Visit the guide Finding Journal Articles for in-depth information on how to search a library database or contact your liaison librarian for assistance.

When you search the databases and get a list of results, click on the yellow Find It button to see if the library has access to the full text of the article. If you come across an article that the library doesn't have access to, you can obtain it through our Interlibrary Loan service. This service is free to faculty, students, and staff at the U Sask. Find the submission form here:

Interlibrary Loan

Search Strategy Builder

The Search Strategy Builder is a tool designed to teach you how to create a search string using Boolean logic. While it is not a database and is not designed to input a search, you should be able to cut and paste the results into the standard database search boxes.

Write out your research question or topic thesis as a sentence.

Concept 1

AND

Concept 2

AND

Concept 3

Extract the major concepts from your sentence above and enter them here.

List alternatives for each concept.

These can be synonyms, or they can be specific examples of the concept.

Use single words or short phrases.

Find additional terms in abstracts and summaries of the articles, books, and other sources you find during initial searches.

Search terms

or

or

or

or

Search Strategy Builder created by University of Arizona Libraries and is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License.