Anthropology and Archaeology: E-Book Collections

E-Book Collections

The University Library has a wide range of e-book collections. Most of our e-books are listed in our Catalogue and therefore can be searched like other books. To limit a Catalogue search to e-books, choose "Electronic Resources" from the pull-down menu beside the Go button.

Listed below are a selection of e-book collections with relevant content to Archaeology and Anthropology.

eBook Central
A platform hosting a growing multidisciplinary collection of electronic books from a range of publishers. This resource used to be ebrary.
Access Note: To access added functionality, you must self-register (free) and sign-in.
Access Note: To download a book, Adobe Digital Editions software is required. To read off-line, download the Bluefire app for iOS or Android.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
EBSCOhost eBook Collection
A collection of over 5283 literature and scholarly electronic books covering a broad range of subjects, plus over 3450 public domain titles classic works of "fiction, speeches, government reports, and other electronic texts.
Access Note: Most EBSCOhost e-books can be checked out and downloaded for the check-out period (check-out periods vary by title) to your personal computer or mobile device. You must create an EBSCOhost account and have Adobe Digital Commons on your device to download (borrow) e-books.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.

Archaeopress Open Access Books

Many of the Archaeopress Publishing Ltd. books and conference proceeedings, along with select book chapters and articles, are now available Open Access. This open access collection can be searched by Subject or by Series. Some of these books are also available in print in the Library's collection.

Specialized E-Resources

eHRAF Archaeology
A cross-cultural database containing information on the world's prehistory and organized by archaeological traditions. The full-text sources are subject-indexed at the paragraph level. It is a unique resource designed to facilitate comparative archaeological studies. A subject code search can be even more successful than a keyword search. For subject code searching and other information, consult the eHRAF help files and the OCM (Outline of Cultural Materials) subject codes.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, staff, and alumni of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
eHRAF World Cultures
A cross-cultural database containing information on all aspects of cultural and social life. Information is organized into cultures and ethnic groups and the full-text sources are subject-indexed at the paragraph level. eHRAF databases are unique in their ability to search full-texts using subjects to find relevant paragraphs. A subject code search can be even more successful than a keyword search. For subject code searching and other information, consult the eHRAF help files.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, staff, and alumni of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.