The Freedom to Read website maintains a large archive of challenged works. "This selective list provides information about numerous books and some magazines and newspapers that have been challenged in Canada and internationally in past decades." Information from this list was used when producing lists of challenged books found within the University Library's collection.
The Canadian Federation of Library Associations (CFLA-FCAB) supports the annual Intellectual Freedom Challenges Survey, which "creates a national snapshot of the nature and outcome of challenges to intellectual freedom in publicly-funded Canadian libraries. By documenting and reporting these incidents, Canadian libraries demonstrate their commitment to public accountability and institutional transparency."
Materials from the University Library's collection
Challenged in Alberta, 2010. Stoney Nakoda leaders objected to the negative portrayal of their government of the reserve. In 2011, the Judicial Council of Alberta found merit in the Stoney Nakodas’ complaint and said that Reilly should resign from the bench if he wanted to make political statements.
In 2008, a parent formally complained about the use of this novel in a grade 12 class because they said the novel contained “profane language,” anti-Christian overtones, “violence” and “sexual degradation”.
Challenged in 2002. Oxford University Press decided not to sell the U.S. edition in Canada. The book includes a photograph of a nude boy by Robert Mapplethorpe, and the publisher feared the photograph might trigger criminal charges under Canada’s child pornography law.
Challenged in Toronto, 2005. The book was part of a display about the Great Lakes region of Africa. The student’s family had been killed in the Rwandan massacre of 1994. The book was removed from the display, but not removed from the library.
Tracing the censorship histories of 120 works from around the world, this title provides a summary of each work, its censorship history, and suggestions for further reading. Updates to existing entries cover new controversies regarding such classic books as 'Huckleberry Finn' and 'The Canterbury Tales'.
"I want to be intelligent, even if I do live in Boston." --an anonymous Bostonian, 1929. In this spectacular romp through the Puritan City, Neil Miller relates the scintillating story of how a powerful band of Brahmin moral crusaders helped make Boston the most straitlaced city in America, forever linked with the infamous catchphrase "Banned in Boston."
Equitable access to information for all, including underserved populations, is a core value of librarianship. The growing awareness of where this inequality persists has led many professionals to take steps to advance social justice within their institutions, from creating book displays about the Black Lives Matter movement or LGBT History Month to hosting programs by potentially controversial speakers. But while libraries are often well-versed in protecting the right to read books, many lack policies and experience in addressing censorship of resources and services. This resource from Pekoll, Assistant Director of the American Library Association's Office for Intellectual Freedom (OIF), uses specific case studies to offer practical guidance on safeguarding intellectual freedom related to library displays, programming, and other librarian-created content.
The director of the famed Bodleian Libraries at Oxford narrates the global history of the willful destruction--and surprising survival--of recorded knowledge over the past three millennia. Libraries and archives have been attacked since ancient times but have been especially threatened in the modern era. Today the knowledge they safeguard faces purposeful destruction and willful neglect; deprived of funding, libraries are fighting for their very existence. Burning the Books recounts the history that brought us to this point. Richard Ovenden describes the deliberate destruction of knowledge held in libraries and archives from ancient Alexandria to contemporary Sarajevo, from smashed Assyrian tablets in Iraq to the destroyed immigration documents of the UK Windrush generation. He examines both the motivations for these acts--political, religious, and cultural--and the broader themes that shape this history. He also looks at attempts to prevent and mitigate attacks on knowledge, exploring the efforts of librarians and archivists to preserve information, often risking their own lives in the process.
The first comprehensive examination of Australian book censorship, this enlightening and enthralling discussion is based on Nicole Moore's discovery of the secret "censor's library" in the National Archives. Combining scholarship with the narrative tension of a thriller,the book exposes the scandalous history of censorship in Australia.
Censorship and book burning are still present in our lives. Lawrence Hill shares his experiences of how ignorance and the fear of ideas led a group in the Netherlands to burn the cover of his widely successful novel, The Book of Negroes, in 2011. Why do books continue to ignite such strong reactions in people in the age of the Internet? Is banning, censoring, or controlling book distribution ever justified? Hill illustrates his ideas with anecdotes and lists names of Canadian writers who faced censorship challenges in the twenty-first century, inviting conversation between those on opposite sides of these contentious issues. All who are interested in literature, freedom of expression, and human rights will enjoy reading Hill's provocative essay.
Keep Them Reading is a concise handbook for teachers, librarians, administrators, and district personnel about how to prevent censorship in a school or district--and what to do if it happens. Written by two award-winning authors who have devoted much of their careers to anti-censorship work, this book discusses the overall importance of reading in all academic endeavors and demonstrates how challenges and censorship can derail even the best literacy program. Each chapter contains practical tools, advice, and resources for building understanding about issues of intellectual freedom and for creating a plan to help all parties work through challenges before they turn into damaging censorship incidents. The last chapter contains advice from authors who have dealt with censorship, such as Judy Blume, and experts on the subject, such as Joan Bertin, executive director of the National Coalition Against Censorship.
Gives plot synopses of 105 works of fiction and nonfiction censored for their political content, and details the censorship history of each. Works covered include Black Boy, Gulliver's Travels, Inside the Company: CIA Diary, and One Day in the Life of Ivan Denisovich . Includes biographical prof
Discusses some 100 books that have been targets of religious censorship over the centuries, encompassing texts of the world's major religions, novels, and classic works of philosophy, science, and history, as well as contemporary works. Alphabetical entries describe the content of each work and rev
John Scopes went on trial for teaching Darwin's theory of evolution; nearly 70 years later, an Illinois English teacher was confronted by protesters who demanded that J. D. Salinger's Catcher in the Rye "not be assigned for reading" - adding that their demand should not be interpreted as "censorship or banning books." Whatever it's called, it means that books are under attack - from "Cinderella" to Huckleberry Finn. This program looks at how teachers can prepare themselves against attack, and looks at those who, in the name of religion or equality or whatever cause, are aiming the censor's gun at teachers and books.
THE BOOK THAT SHOOK THE WORLD is a historical essay film that delves into the controversy and uproar brought about by the publication in Australia and in Europe of The Little Red Schoolbook by Soren Hansen and Jesper Jensen, where in many countries it was banned while also looking at the repressive censorship laws Australia lived under in the sixties and early seventies.
The Book That Shook the World shows how change was brought about by the actions of people willing to risk gaol for their anti censorship beliefs. Using The Little Red Schoolbook, and other publications of the time it traces the change and development of censorship laws and attitudes in Australia, asking in conclusion, as the film is brought up to date - how far have we really come? At the same time it is often an amusing look at the cultural hypocrisies Australians were living under, and the sometimes hilarious lengths authorities went to, to prevent change, while others tried to bring change about. Featuring a mixture of experts, participants of the time and questioning narration all inter-cut with clips from the period such as, news archives, and publications the period comes to life.
Has a section on banned books.
The country’s 100 favorite novels are announced in this celebration of reading, hosted by Meredith Vieira. With titles on the list spanning four centuries, authors from 15 countries, and every genre imaginable, it is clear that America’s taste in novels is as diverse as the people who make up our nation.