One Health: Searching for Articles

Finding Articles on One Health

Because One Health is, by definition, a multidisciplinary topic, it is difficult to identify one or two "best" databases to search. Instead, it will depend very much on what topic you are searching for, and what aspects of that topic you are interested in. Here are some databases which are likely to help you when searching for material from various disciplines, but this is not an exhaustive list. There are several databases listed for each area; each covers a different selection of the journals published in that discipline, so often you will want to search more than one database so that you can do a more thorough search.

If you do not find the information you need, please feel free to get in touch with the One Health liaison librarian. Her contact information is on the home tab of this guide.

Agriculture, Biology and Veterinary Medicine

AGRICOLA
A bibliographic database covering agriculture and life sciences, primarily in English, but with some content in other languages. Includes citations for journal articles, theses, translations, monographs, proceedings, and technical reports. Content is updated monthly.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
CABI: CAB Abstracts & CAB Abstracts Archive
Index and abstract database to agriculture, forestry, and biosciences literature, including: journals, books, conference proceedings, reports, and patents. Includes literature from over 140 countries in more than 40 languages. Part of the Web of Knowledge.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
Zoological Record
The world's leading taxonomic reference and oldest continuing database of animal biology, considered the world's unofficial register of animal names. Coverage extends back to 1864. Part of the Web of Knowledge.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.

WildPro
The Wildpro electronic library consists of books, scientific papers and documents that have been made available free of charge with the kind permission of the originators of these publications, with whom full copyright and responsibility rests.

Human Health

EMBASE: Excerpta Medica & EMBASE Classic
A major biomedical and pharmaceutical database indexing "international journals in the following fields: drug research, pharmacology, pharmaceutics, toxicology, clinical and experimental human medicine, health policy and management, public health, occupational health, environmental health, drug dependence and abuse, psychiatry, forensic medicine, and biomedical engineering/instrumentation." There is selective coverage for nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, psychology, and alternative medicine. Includes the archive, EMBASE Classic back to 1947. EMBASE Excerpta Medica Database (EMBASE) is a subset of EMBASE.

Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law. .
MEDLINE: Ovid MEDLINE
Major bibliographic database for clinical medicine, including: internal medicine, general medicine, primary care, family medicine, and general practice, as well as: veterinary medicine, nursing, allied health, dentistry, and pre-clinical sciences.
Access Note: Internet Explorer versions 8, 9, and 10 will not be supported after December 31, 2018.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
Global Health
A bibliographic database covering information related to human health and communicable diseases. It brings together the resources of two internationally renowned databases - the Public Health and Tropical Medicine (PHTM) database, previously produced by the Bureau of Hygiene and Tropical Diseases (BHTD), and the human health and diseases information extracted from CAB ABSTRACTS. Formerly known as CAB Health.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
Public Health Database
Provides access to the core public health literature from journals, dissertations, videos, and more. Current newspaper articles are also included to provide access to breaking news in public health, such as pandemics and disaster preparedness.

Formerly ProQuest Public Health.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text: Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature
A comprehensive database providing full text for more than 760 journals (450 only available in full-text through CINAHL) and abstracts and indexing for over 3000 journals covering nursing & allied health topics.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.

Multidisciplinary Databases

Google Scholar
You can find the Library's full text holdings in Google Scholar. Just look for the "FindIt!" or "FullText" links on the right side of the screen, beside each search result.
Access Note: To enable "FindIt!" on your home computer: On the Google Scholar page navigate to "Settings" > "Library links" > Search for University of Saskatchewan > Ensure all two checkboxes are marked > Save.
This is an Open Access resource freely available on the Internet.
Scopus
A very large abstract and index database of research literature and quality web sources covering the science, technology, and medicine (STM), and social sciences.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
Web of Science Core Collection
Collection of citation databases, providing abstracts and indexing and cited reference searching to over 10,000 high impact scholarly research journals worldwide, including Open Access journals and over 110,000 conference proceedings, and covering topics in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.

Indigenous Studies Portal
Links to more than 65,000 Indigenous Studies research materials, presentations as well as documentaries created by Indigenous filmmakers, and archival documents. Database contains information on indigenous culture & Society, economic development, Health, Law, hunting practises, land use, etc.

Other Databases

Still not finding what you're looking for? Check out the list of suggested journal databases on the:

Public Health Research Guide and the
Veterinary Medicine Research Guide