Chemical & Biological Engineering: Journal Articles & Databases

This is a subject guide created to support learning and research for the Department of Chemical & Biological Engineering.

Finding a journal article

The published collections of journal articles are indexed together in subject databases.

Finding journal articles
1. To locate journal articles you need to search in a subject database for the journal literature in your field (choose from lists below)
2. Once in the database, enter the key concepts that you are looking for, and combine terms you would like to find in the same article.

The University Library subscribes to hundreds of different databases, in many subject areas: click here for a complete alphabetical list.

If we don't have access to an article that you find, you can still request it for free through our InterLibrary Loan service - at no cost to you!

Need help?
Most databases have their own search help page and user guides.
For assistance with searching, please ask reference desk staff or contact the Engineering Librarian.

Selected Databases and Journal Collections

Engineering Village: EI Engineering Village
Collection of databases covering scientific, applied science, technical and engineering disciplines, earth sciences, ecology, oceanography and more. Contains articles, conference proceedings and full text of engineering handbooks. Includes full-text access to Compendex and Inspec.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
Compendex and Engineering Index Backfile
A "comprehensive bibliographic database of engineering research... containing references and abstracts to over 5,000 engineering journals, conferences and technical reports. The broad subject areas of engineering and applied science are comprehensively represented." Also includes the Engineering Index online backfile from 1884-1969. See also EI Engineering Villiage.
Please Note: Arrangements for permission to text and data mine this resource can be made with the publisher. Contact the library at USask EResources in advance to arrange these permissions.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
Inspec & Inspec Archive
A bibliographic database providing access to the world's scientific literature in electrical engineering, electronics, physics, control engineering, information technology, communications, computers, computing, and manufacturing and production engineering.
Please Note: Arrangements for permission to text and data mine this resource can be made with the publisher. Contact the library at USask EResources in advance to arrange these permissions.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
ASTM Compass
Includes access to ASTM's collection of over 12,000 standards, and nearly every other ASTM publication, including books and papers dating back to 1932.

Access Note: Users will be prompted to accept the license agreement the first time in order to access the resource.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
Scopus
A very large abstract and index database of research literature and quality web sources covering the science, technology, and medicine (STM), and social sciences.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
Web of Science Core Collection
Collection of citation databases, providing abstracts and indexing and cited reference searching to over 10,000 high impact scholarly research journals worldwide, including Open Access journals and over 110,000 conference proceedings, and covering topics in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.

ACS Web Editions & ACS Journal Archives
Collection of magazines and peer-reviewed electronic journals published by ACS Publications (American Chemical Society).
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
Royal Society of Chemistry Journals & Archive
Electronic journal collection of over 40 titles published by the Royal Society of Chemistry (RSC), including archives going back to 1841.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, staff, and alumni of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
OnePetro
A multi-society library "that provides a simple way to search for and access a broad range of technical literature related to the oil and gas exploration and production industry." Currently the literature of 11 societies are included.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.

AGRICOLA
A bibliographic database covering agriculture and life sciences, primarily in English, but with some content in other languages. Includes citations for journal articles, theses, translations, monographs, proceedings, and technical reports. Content is updated monthly.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
CABI: CAB Abstracts & CAB Abstracts Archive
Index and abstract database to agriculture, forestry, and biosciences literature, including: journals, books, conference proceedings, reports, and patents. Includes literature from over 140 countries in more than 40 languages. Part of the Web of Knowledge.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
ASABE Technical Library: American Society of Agricultural and Biological Engineers
A full text collection of journals, meeting reports, proceedings, monographs, and other technical documents published by the American Society of Agricultural and Biological Engineers.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar can be a good place to do a quick and general search of the literature in an unfamiliar area. It is also a useful tool to look up full citations of known articles.

Notices will appear on the right of the search results with links to the FullText version through the USask library. For instructions to enable this feature in your browser click here.

For search tips, click here.