Skip to main content

The University Library is operating online. Have a question? Ask Us!

Law Resources: The Basics: Home

The purpose of this guide is to give a short basic overview of the resources in the Law Library. What they are, where they are and why you would want to use them.

Law Library Collections

Collections in the Law Library can be hard to find.  Especially since our library spans over three floors. Our different collections are housed in different areas of the library.

The Main floor consists of:

  • Canadian law cases, digests, reporters and federal & provincial legislation
  • The UK Legal Collection
  • The Commonwealth Legal Collection.

The Mezzanine consists of:

  • The American Legal Collection: cases, digests and reports.

The Basement consists of:

  • The Library of Congress (LCC) Collection: law books and other law materials.

The Journal Tower consists of:

  • Law journals

Library Space

The Law Library is a quiet and food-friendly space featuring spacious tables and comfortable seating. Many study spaces have natural light and are located near windows. Individual study cubicles are available on the mezzanine and basement levels, while the group study room can accommodate up to six people for collaborative work. The main floor is fully wheel-chair accessible.

All three floors have student study space, each floor with a different atmosphere. 

The Main floor or 'Reading Room' features long study tables with lots of space to spread out and is accented with comfortable chairs. "The reading room is at the centre of the ground floor library space, ringed by book stacks and library support functions arranged around the perimetre. It is a soaring light-filled space, stretching more than three storeys in height and crowned by a cupola with clerestory glazing", making it a great study space for students. The Main floor has 7 computers for student use, as well as a public access computer and houses the group study room.

The Mezzanine features a great view of the Main floor, lots of natural light and small side alcoves perfect for privacy. It also has long study tables as well as individual study carols accented with comfy chairs.

The Basement features yellow study carols from the 1970's giving it a bright retro atmosphere among the book stacks which house our LCC collection. 


References
University of Saskatchewan Heritage Register

 

Law Library Service Desk

Law Library Layout

The Law Library is located on the ground floor of the Law Building. The Library spans three floors with the main access on the ground floor of the library.  The Journal Tower is a unique and stunning feature of the library. All levels of the library house the different print collections and accommodate student study space.