Political Studies: Political Economy

Resources to Consult

Political Science Complete (PSC)
Political Science Complete contains scholarly journals, full-text of reference books, monographs and conference papers covering political topics with a global focus. Subjects include: comparative politics, humanitarian issues, international relations, law and legislation, non-governmental organizations and political theory.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
EconLit
This database is published by the American Economic Association and provides bibliographic coverage of a wide range of economics-related literature. An expanded version of the Journal of Economic Literature (JEL) indexes of journals, books and dissertations, EconLit covers both economic theory and application. Also included are full-text of book reviews published in the Journal of Economic Literature since 1993.Journal of Economic Literature.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
PAIS Index
Abstract and Index bibliographic database covering public affairs, public and social policies, international relations. It has an archive going back to 1915.

Formerly PAIS International & PAIS Archive.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
ABI/INFORM Collection
Business collection includes articles from journals, magazines and newspapers (Wall Street Journal); business/economics dissertations, country profiles, Business Monitor and First Research market research reports etc. The Economist articles (text only) are here.

Formerly ABI/INFORM Complete.

Access Note: Browse option features market research/country report series.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.

Country Information

These sources provide country profiles, including the current political, economic, and social environments:

Country Watch

International Monetary Fund: Country Information

CIA: The World Factbook

Freedom House reports (annual), including:

Human Development Reports (United Nations)

OECD iLibrary: Browse by topic and country or choose Statistics

International Country Risk Guide Annual (7 volume set): access via International Security & Counter Terrorism Reference Centre database > search "International Country Risk Guide Annual"

UCDP Conflict Encylopedia

International Crisis Group, including CrisisWatch, reports & briefings, country information, global issues.

Human Rights Watch

Europa World Plus