How to Find Government Information for Other Provinces
To find government information on other Canadian provinces and territories, your best bet is to consult a library guide at a major university in that province. Other good sources are the Legislative Library for each province.
Online Provincial Government Information
Government information is increasingly online and increasingly only available online.
There are several strategies that can be used to locate online government information.
Each department within the government will usually have its own web page and search box.
Many jurisdictions have a Queen's Printer or official publications site which can be a source for finding specific government publications. It is frequently the case, however, that many official publications and reports are not published and/or distributed by the Queen's Printer or equivalent. For those other publications, it is most effective to search the issuing department's web site.
Tip: Be wary about searching too narrowly too soon. Sometime searching the government's general search box reveals that more than one department has an interest in a particular topic.
APLIC, the Association of Parliamentary Libraries in Canada, has developed a test web portal which contains links to many online government publications from the provinces and territories. This portal is a beta project and may evolve as it is tested and developed.
Digitized Older Government Publications
There is a lot of activity in the retroactive digitization of older Canadian official publications. New or expanded sites appear frequently. It is a challenge to keep up with them and even more so because the group doing the digitization might be the Legislative Assembly or the government itself, a university library or a consortium of university libraries, archives or other research groups.
Older legislative materials such as debates and journals and older statutes and government gazettes are common digitization projects because of their historical importance.
A service providing unified full-text search and access to three major collections of digitized Canadian documentary heritage: the Monographs collection, spanning three and a half centuries of Canadian documentary history and holds rich primary materials exploring a wide range of subjects and disciplines, the Serials collection includes a wide range of dailies, weeklies, specialized journals and mass-market magazines, as well as city directories and annual reports from churches, schools, and corporations and specialized publications include trade or industry journals as well as many mens, womens, students and childrens popular magazines, and the Government Publications collection includes over 1.7 million pages of historical pre-1920 colonial, provincial and federal government documents.
License Information: This license was negotiated by the Canadian Research Knowledge Network (CRKN). There are no restrictions to the number of simultaneous users. Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, alumni patrons, and to "walk-in" users of the University of Saskatchewan Library for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. It is accessible in the library, on campus, and remotely. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and International Copyright law.