Finding Journal Articles: Home

How to find journal articles, both print and electronic, through the University of Saskatchewan Library website.

Why Can't I Just Google?

What's a Library Database?

Introduction

Finding journal or newspaper articles involves a few more steps than finding books, but is a requirement for university research, and is always worth the effort.

The first thing to know is that you cannot find individual articles listed in the library catalogue. You must use a different tool (often called a journal article database) to do this. Using an article database allows you to search hundreds of different journals at once!  The library pays for subscriptions to hundreds of different article databases, some of which are devoted to a single subject (such as Sociological Abstracts or Engineering Village) and others which cover a range of subjects (such as Academic Search Complete).

USearch is a cross-platform search tool that allows you to search the Library Catalogue and a variety of databases at the same time. Your search results will include the library's online and print collections.

All databases will provide citation information (ex: name of the article, article author(s), journal name, page numbers, etc.). Some databases will provide abstracts (article summaries) which are very useful in determining the value of the article. Many, but not all, databases will include the full-text of the article. You can read the articles online, print them, save them, or e-mail them to yourself.

Where to Start?

Journal Article Databases

Searching within a specific database will limit your results by focussing on a single subject area.

If you're not sure which database to use, visit the Research Guide for your subject to see which databases are recommended by your librarian.

Already Know Which Database You Want?

You can go directly to that database through the library's A-Z list.

USearch - Many Databases at Once

You can use USearch to find articles from many of our databases all at once. You are almost guaranteed to find something.

However, depending on your needs, the number of results you get may be overwhelming or off-topic, in which case it might be better to use a subject-specific database. 



To learn the basics of using USearch, watch this short video: