Newspapers: Home

Welcome to the Newspapers Guide

The University Library subscribes to newspapers available in print and microfilm; the Library also subscribes to online local and international newspapers collections. This guide will give you information about all of our newspaper collections and links to our online collections.

Current International and Domestic Newspapers

PressReader
Provides today's newspapers from Canada, the United States, and around the world with the appearance of the print copy. You can translate any of the articles instantly into more than a dozen languages. An app is available for mobile devices and tablets. Formerly PressDisplay.
Access Note: Users who authenticate as a USask Library user on their own device will have access to PressReader on that device anywhere for 6 days, after which they must authenticate again.
Access Note: The Globe and Mail is no longer available to read off-campus.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
Canadian Newsstream: Major Dailies
Major Canadian dailies, news sources, and newspapers from across Canada. Formerly Canadian Newsstand.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
New York Times
The online version of the New York Times includes the same articles, features, and images that appear in the print edition, as well as an array of additional still image, video, audio, and data content. Content includes the current online edition, and searchable archive to the papers' inception in 1851.
Access Note: Users must register and create a personal account for access through the library's subscription to the New York Times in Education program. Instructions--Go to: https://www.nytimes.com/activate-access/edu-access; Search for and select University of Saskatchewan from the list of schools; Click "Create Account" and complete fields: You must use a valid USASK email address (usask.ca); Verify your account through email message--you will receive a confirmation email to complete setup. NOTE: Individual registration expires and must be renewed.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
World News Digest
Approximately 70 years of international news covering all major political, social, and economic events from November 1940. Updated weekly.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.

Photo owned by Pixabay is licensed under CC0 BY 1.0

Connect from home

When attempting to access online resources from home, make sure you are logged into the library's website to ensure you have full access. See the Connect from Home page below for more information.

Connect from Home