Newspapers: Canada - Historical

Canadian Provinces Historical

Small print shop, probably near Unity, SK, ca. 1913. UASC, pamphlets collection

Note: Some historical newspapers are also available in microfilm at the Murray Library.

Alberta Newspapers Collection
Early Alberta Newspaper Collection, an Alberta Heritage - Digitization Project, is a work in development. Goal to scan all Alberta newspapers.
BC Historical Newspapers
BC newspapers from 1865-1994 (scanned issues).
Manitoba Newspapers
Early Manitoba Newspapers (scanned issues).
Memorial University of NFLD Digital Archives
Newspapers
Newspaper Archives of New Brunswick
Nova Scotia Historical Newspapers Online
Peel's Prairie Provinces: Newspapers
"An online bibliography of books, pamphlets, and other materials related to the development of the Prairies, as well as a searchable full-text collection of many of these items."University of Alberta.
Prince Edward Island Archives
Island Newspapers.
Quebec BANQ Newspapers Digital Collection
A list of magazines and newspapers from Quebec.
Saskatchewan News Index
Index to selected articles published in Saskatchewan newspapers from 1884-2000; compiled by a group of Saskatchewan cultural institutions.
Saskatchewan Historic Newspapers Online (SHNO)
This collection when completed will see the digitization of newspapers from all across Saskatchewan from 1878 through to the mid 1960s. The first stage focuses on Saskatchewan newspapers published during the Great War period, from January 1914 through to the end of hostilities in 1918.

ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Globe and Mail
Full-page newspaper issues from June 1844. Coverage includes all the stories, images, advertisements, classifieds, political cartoons, births and deaths.

License Information: This license was negotiated by the Canadian Research Knowledge Network. There are no restrictions to the number of simultaneous users. Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and to "walk-in" users of the University of Saskatchewan Library for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. It is accessible in the library, on campus, and remotely. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and International Copyright law.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Toronto Star
Full page newspaper issues of the Toronto Star newspaper since 1894.

License Information: There are no restrictions to the number of simultaneous users. Access is restricted to current patrons of the University of Saskatchewan Library for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. It is accessible in the library, on campus, and remotely. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content, including the downloading of a full issue, is not permitted by Canadian and International Copyright law.

Democracy at war: Canadian newspapers and the Second World War
"Collection of more than 140,000 clippings, arranged by subject and date, includes news stories and editorials from newspapers, mostly Canadian, documenting every aspect of the war. The English-language clippings are from the archive of the century-old Hamilton Spectator newspaper, while the French-language materials are from a collection of the newspaper Le Devoir."

Canadian News Facts
Call Number: Murray Library-5th Floor AP5 .C241 v.1 to v.35
The indexed digest of Canadian current events. The library has print copies from v.1 1967 to v.35 2001.
Online access is available for v.31 1997 to v.35 2001.

Google Newspapers Archives
Coverage and history varies. Includes newspapers such as the Calgary Herald, Saskatoon StarPhoenix, Vancouver Sun, Ottawa Citizen, Montreal Gazette etc.