Newspapers: European and British - Historical

Historical Collections, Directories and Indexes - UK, Ireland, and Europe

"1974 Newspaper" by darkday is licensed under CC BY 2.0

Times Digital Archive: 1785-2019
The Times (London), from 1785 to 2009: all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos. Excludes Sunday Times. Searchable.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
Sunday Times Historical Archive, 1822-2006
The Sunday Times, weekly news about the theatre, sport and politics. Coverage from1822 - 2006.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
Economist Historical Archive, 1843-2020
The complete archive (1843-2020) of The Economist weekly newspaper, including fully searchable editorial, advertising, and tabular matter.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
Seventeenth and Eighteenth Century Burney Collection Newspapers
A collection of newspapers and news pamphlets, collected by Reverend Charles Burney (1757 - 1817). This is the largest single collection of 17th and 18th century English news media, and includes over 700 bound volumes of content published mostly in London.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
Eighteenth Century Journals, sections I-V: A Portal to Newspapers and Periodicals, c1685-1835
Digitized image collection of newspapers and periodicals, 1685-1815. Topics are wide-ranging and include: the writings of Sir Isaac Newton, the French Revolution, reviews of literature and fashion throughout Europe, political debates, and coffee house gossip and discussion.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.

Directories

Gallica: La Bibliotheque numerique
Bibliotheque nationale de France digital library about Francophone culture. Includes newspapers.

Keesing's Record of World Events
Monthly news digest of world events. Format paper.Call no. D410 .K26 1931 -
Early English newspapers
Microfilm collection PN5114E27

Waterloo Directory of English Newspapers and Periodicals: 1800-1900. Series 3
The Waterloo Directory of English Newspapers and Periodicals:1800-1900, is a subject-inclusive, language-inclusive bibliography of 73,000 publications, 68,000 personal names, 6,300 issuing bodies, 2,400 publishing towns, 23,000 title pages, 2,000 subjects. Editor John S. North.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.

The Annual Register
An annual view of the history and politics of the year. Title varies. Holdings 1838-1849; 1919-
Call no. D2 A61