Finding Theses and Dissertations: Print Theses at the U of S

Searching the Catalogue for Print & Electronic Theses & Dissertations

If you know the topic you want to search, but aren’t sure of any titles or authors, you can do a WORD search:

  • Start at the library homepage, library.usask.ca.
  • Click on the Catalogue tab in the search box in the middle of the screen.
  • Under Search - Word: type in a word or two that you are interested in researching.
  • Combine each concept with AND (e.g., women and international development).
  • Narrow your search by selecting Theses Collection in the drop down box.
  • Click Go!

 The catalogue search box from the library's homepage. The option "Theses Collection" from the first drop-down menu is selected.

 

 

Need more help with the Catalogue?

Once you click on a result, the item record provides you with many details of the thesis/dissertation including:

  • Author, place of publication, copyright information (all very useful for your bibliography).
  • Location (LOC) indicates which library the thesis is located in. 
  • Call Number indicates the physical location assigned to a print copy of a  thesis.

A screencap showing the catalogue record of a thesis that is available in print.

To examine a thesis that is only available in print form, please visit the University Archives and Special Collections on the third floor of the Murray Library and the staff will retrieve the thesis for you to examine. Theses must be examined only in the Special Collections reading room.  Please be prepared to wait while the staff retrieves the thesis, or alternatively, request the thesis in advance by calling Special Collections at 966-6029 or emailing Special Collections at: ua.sc@usask.ca

A screencap showing the catalogue record of a thesis that is available online. There is a link that says "Connect to view the document",

If the thesis is available as an e-thesis you will see the phrase "Electronic Thesis" rather than a location and call number. You can click on "Connect to view the document" to open the thesis itself in a new window.

Search Now!

To search in the catalogue from this page, simply enter your search terms into the box below and click GO

Search: