Dentistry: Evidence Based Practice

Key Websites

CADTH (Canadian Agency for Drugs and Technology in Health) Evidence Bundles - Evidence on Dental and Oral Health

Really useful summaries, some with critical appraisals, reference lists, and technology reviews - carefully pulled together by the esteemed Canadian Agency for Drugs and Technology in Health, commonly referred to as "CADTH". Topics include: Dental Decay Prevention, Endodontics, and Restorative Dentistry. Worth a look!

Aetna Inc. Aetna Dental Clinical Policy Bulletins

Aetna is a health insurer. The Dental Clinical Policy Bulletins explain the dental services that they may or may not cover. They are based on objective, credible sources, such as the scientific literature, guidelines, consensus statements and expert opinions.

American Dental Association Center for Evidence-Based De ntistry

Comprehensive website including background info on evidence-based dentistry (EBD), including: systematic reviews; critical summaries; clinical practice guidelines/recommendations; and links to helpful resources. Also has an extensive background of EBD; a glossary of terms; tutorials and more.

The Centre for Evidence-based Dentistry (CEBD) is an independent body in Oxford England whose aim is to promote the teaching, learning, practice and evaluation of evidence-based dentistry world-wide. Provides starting points for understanding and practising evidence based dentistry.

Databases

Epistemonikos aims to identify all of the systematic reviews relevant for healthcare decision making. It regularly scans Cochrane, PubMed, CINAHL, Embase, PsycINFO, LILACS, DARE, Campbell Collaboration, JBI, and EPPI Centre Evidence Library. Very user friendly!

Cochrane Library
Includes the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews - high-quality, independent evidence that informs healthcare decision-making. Currently contains 200+ dentistry systematic reviews.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
ACCESSSS
ACCESSSS is a federated search engine which provides current best evidence for clinical decisions. It conducts literature searches simultaneously in several different evidence-based information services.
*Note:* Users will have to create an account to search for resources.
This is an open access resource freely available on the Internet. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
Trip
A clinical search engine which provides high-quality research evidence in support of practice/care. Clinicians can search for images, videos, patient information leaflets, educational courses and news. Users may access DynaMed through Trip: after performing your search click on the DynaMed tab to see further results. Access Note: You must first "sign up" to create an account. Midway down the "sign up" page you will be asked for you institution. This will allow easy linking between Trip and our full-text holdings. Scroll down until you find the University of Saskatchewan. Make sure to save your profile when you finish.
This is an Open Access resource freely available on the Internet. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.To access full text, you must authenticate with your NSID.
MEDLINE: Ovid MEDLINE
Major bibliographic database for clinical medicine, including: internal medicine, general medicine, primary care, family medicine, and general practice, as well as: veterinary medicine, nursing, allied health, dentistry, and pre-clinical sciences.
Access Note: Internet Explorer versions 8, 9, and 10 will not be supported after December 31, 2018.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.

Clinical Practice Guidelines

ADA Center for Evidence Based Dentistry. Clinical Practice Guidelines
CMA Infobase: Clinical Practice Guidelines
This Canadian Medical Association database provides access to nearly 2000 clinical practice guidelines produced or endorsed in Canada. It offers a number of search and browse capabilities, including a search by MeSH terms under the Basic Search option.
Faculty of General Dental Practice (UK)
The FGDP(UK) provides evidence-based guidance and standards for the whole of the dental profession in order to promote high quality practice and patient care.
Scottish Dental Clinical Effectiveness Programme
Provides user-friendly, evidence-based guidance to support dental teams to provide high quality healthcare that is safe, effective and person centred.

ECRI Guidelines Trust. Guidelines on medical devices can be accessed after signing up for a free account.

NICE National Institute for Health and Care Excellence - a British group which "provide [s] national guidance and advice to improve health and social care."