Dentistry: Find Images

Images from the Web

Public Health Image Library from the CDC
Photographs, Illustrations, Multimedia Files to illustrate public health issues.

Images from the History of Medicine (NLM)
Comprising almost 70,000 images from the Prints and Photographs Collection as well as other collections held in the History of Medicine Division, IHM is one of the largest image databases in the world dedicated to images of medicine, dentistry, public health, the health professions, and health institutions.

Images @ PubMedCentral
Images database comprises approximately 3 million images from biomedical literature deposited in full text resources at the NCBI, including journal articles in PubMed Central. This is a great source for searching for articles based on graphs, images, etc. in the article. Do a search, and look for image results on the right.

Microsoft Office
An extensive collection that offers free illustrations, photos, sound, and animations.

Health Education Assets Library (HEAL)
The Health Education Assets Library (HEAL) is a digital library of multimedia teaching resources for the health sciences. HEAL provides access to tens of thousands of images, videoclips, animations, presentations, and audio files that support healthcare education.

Free to Use Photography

Wikimedia Commons
Creative Commons Search
Search for content under Creative Commons licensing.
Unprofound
Independent free photography.
Stockvault
Independent free photography
MorgueFile
Independent free photography.
FreeDigitalPhotos.net
Independent free photography. Attribution required.
Stock.xchng
Independent free photography.
Free Range Photography
Independent free photography.
BigPhoto
Independent free photography. Attribution and link back to their site required.
Public Domain Pictures
Public Domain Photos
Image After

Image Format Types

JPG	best for photographs and screenshots. Use JPG when small file size is more important than high image quality (e.g. screen display). JPG can be used for printed materials but should be saved at a (higher) print quality than files for screen use only	By Mdf (Own work) [GFDL (http://www.gnu.org/copyleft/fdl.html) or CC-BY-SA-3.0
PNG	best for logos, clip art, and graphics with solid areas of colour. Not used for photos or graphics with gradients and many colours. PNG is a lossless, small file size format good for screen display. It supports transparent backgrounds. PNG was developed to replace GIF.
GIF	Can be used in the same place as PNG. GIFs are small file size, low resolution images used on websites. This format support transparent backgrounds and is also used for short animations. LibGuides does not support animated GIFS but you can use still GIFS (similar to PNGs)
TIFF	best for photographs and graphic design elements that need to be high quality. TIFF is a lossless format and is often used for professional work in programs like Photoshop and InDesign. TIFFs are usually very large files and are used for high quality printed materials, do not use for web graphics.	TIFF files cannot be displayed on websites.

Anatomy TV

Anatomy.tv

An interactive visual study tool that provides detailed 3D models of human anatomy, interactive dissection images, imaging, and clinical presentations.

Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.

Can I Use that Picture? Copyright Issues with Images

Infographic: Can I Use That Picture?

Chart explaining copyright use for images