Sociology: Find Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

A consistent best-seller, the wide-ranging and authoritative Dictionary of Sociology was first published in 1994 and contains more than 2,500 entries on the terminology, methods, concepts, and thinkers in the field, as well as from the related fields of psychology, economics, anthropology, philosophy, and political science.For this fourth edition, Professor John Scott has conducted a thorough review of all entries to ensure that they are concise, focused, and up to date. Revisions reflect current intellectual debates and social conditions, particularly in relation to globaland multi-cultural issues. New entries cover relevant contemporary concepts, such as climate change, social media, terrorism, and intersectionality, as well as key living sociologists.This Dictionary is both an invaluable introduction to sociology for beginners, and an essential source of reference for more advanced students and teachers.Readership: Invaluable for A-level and undergraduate students, lecturers and teachers, and professionals; ideal for anyone looking for an introduction to sociology.

Named a Best Reference Work for 2009 by Library Journal The Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology is published in both print and online. Arranged across eleven volumes in A-Z format, it is the definitive reference source for students, researchers, and academics in the field. This ground-breaking project brings together specially commissioned entries written and edited by an international team of the world's best scholars and teachers. It provides: "This is an example of a reference book turned into an e-product intelligently and in a way that transcends the print." --Library Journal An essential reference for expert and newcomer alike, with entries ranging from short definitions of key terms to extended explorations of major topics Provides clear, concise, expert definitions and explanations of the key concepts Presents materials that have historically defined the discipline, but also more recent developments, significantly updating the store of sociological knowledge Introduces sociological theories and research that have developed outside of the United States and Western Europe Offers sophisticated cross-referencing and search facilities Features a timeline, lexicon by subject area, bibliography, and index 11 Volumes www.sociologyencyclopedia.com Updating

This concise encyclopedia is the most complete international survey of sociology ever created in one volume. Contains over 800 entries from the whole breadth of the discipline Distilled from the highly regarded Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology, with entries completely revised and updated to provide succinct and up-to-date coverage of the fundamental topics Global in scope, both in terms of topics and contributors Each entry includes references and suggestions for further reading Cross-referencing allows easy movement around the volume

The Elgar Encyclopedia of Crime and Criminal Justicestands apart as the most comprehensive global reference title in its field. Featuring the work of over 250 scholars and practitioners from around the world, the Encyclopedia presents an accessible and uniquely far-reaching set of entries on topics associated with crime and criminal justice. Within this flagship work, the incredible breadth and depth of the field is captured by a diverse and international range of contributors. The Encyclopedia is curated by a team of globally renowned scholars and is ambitious in its scope - comprising thematic, regional and comparative coverage. Entries give a concise summary of the accumulated knowledge on their topic, followed by a list of references to facilitate further study. Over 300 entries Entries organised alphabetically for ease of navigation Fully cross-referenced Entries written by scholars and practitioners from around the world World class editorial team The Encyclopedia will be available online ahead of print, followed by a multi-volume print edition.

A reference work covering "the past, present, and emerging directions of knowledge management." It provides a "broad basis for understanding the issues, technologies, theories, applications, opportunities, and challenges being faced by researchers and organizations today in their quest for knowledge management."

Encyclopedia covering and integrating both qualitative and quantitative approaches to social science and social measurement.

A comprehensive reference work, international in scope, containing "four hundred subject entries and two hundred brief biographies of key figures in the history of social work".

The Encyclopedia of Survey Research Methods presents state-of-the-art information and methodological examples from the field of survey research. With more than 600 entries, this resource uses a Total Survey Error perspective that considers all aspects of possible survey error from a cost-benefit standpoint.

The new set highlights the expanding influence of economics in social science research and features nearly 3, 000 entirely new articles and important biographies contributed by thousands of scholars (including several Nobel prize winners) from around the world on a wide array of global topics, including: achievement testing, censorship, personality measurement, aging, income distribution, foreign aid (political and economic aspects), food (world problems, consumption patterns), cultural adaptation, comparative health-care systems, terrorism, political correctness, agricultural innovation, legislation of morality, sexual violence and exploitation, white collar crime. The new 2nd edition also features biographical profiles of the major contributors to the study of the social sciences, past and present. Highlights of the new set include: 2,990 articles contributed by a team of international scholars, including hundreds of entries covering the increasingly influential fields of economics and statistics Written for researchers inside and outside academia.

A text for any researcher interested in the art, science and practice of qualitative research.

Representing the best thinking from top scholars from around the world, the new edition continues the book's tradition of synthesizing an existing literature, defining the present, and shaping the future of qualitative research. The editors and contributors address issues of social justice and examine how people's struggles can inform public issues and in turn be transformed into social policy. Their writings are underpinned by a critical framework, and they are committed to addressing issues of inequality.

The substantially updated and revised Fifth Edition presents the state-of-the-art theory and practice of qualitative inquiry. Representing top scholars from around the world, the editors and contributors continue the tradition of synthesizing existing literature, defining the present, and shaping the future of qualitative research. The Fifth Edition contains 19 new chapters, with 16 revised--making it virtually a new volume--while retaining six classic chapters from previous editions.