Sociology: Find Articles
Subject specific databases
- SocINDEX with Full TextA scholarly sociology database including over 2.1 million records classified by subject headings from a sociological thesaurus. Comprehensive coverage of sociology, including sub-disciplines and related areas of study.
- Sociological AbstractsAn abstracting and indexing database for international sociology literature, covering journals, conference papers, and books on topics like radical sociology, substance abuse, economic development, and political interactions.
- Social Services AbstractsAn indexing and abstracting database with over 1,300 sources, focused on current social work research.
- SocArXiv
SocArXiv, open archive of the social sciences, provides a free, non-profit, open access platform for social scientists to upload working papers, preprints, and published papers, with the option to link data and code. SocArXiv is dedicated to opening up social science, to reach more people more effectively, to improve research, and build the future of scholarly communication.
Interdisciplinary databases
- Academic Search Complete (ASC)A comprehensive, scholarly, multi-disciplinary database consisting of full-text articles, peer-reviewed journals, and indexing journals. Abstracts and indexes are also included for monographs, conference proceedings, and reports.
- ScopusAbstract and index database of research literature and quality web sources covering the sciences, technology, and medicine (STM), and social sciences.
- Web of Science Core CollectionCitation databases providing abstracts, indexing, and cited reference searching for research journals worldwide, including Open Access journals and conference proceedings. Covers topics in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities.
- JSTORArticles, book reviews, and more from thousands of academic journals across the social sciences, humanities, arts, and sciences.
- Project MUSEFull-text peer-reviewed books and journals from university presses, scholarly societies, and nonprofit publishers. Content is primarily in the humanities and social sciences.
- Sage Journals
Journal articles in business, humanities, medicine, engineering, and physical and life sciences.
Google Scholar is a quick and easy way to broadly search for scholarly literature in one place.
While it does not provide comprehensive coverage of the literature of any particular discipline, it's often a good starting point when you are new to a topic. It's also a great tool to use when you are tracking down a specific citation.
Make sure you update your Google Scholar settings to ensure seamless access to University Library subscribed content.
Literature mapping
- Research rabbitThe Discovery app unlocks a completely novel way to search for papers and authors, monitor new literature, visualize research landscapes, and collaborate with colleagues.
- LitMapsFrom a single paper, Litmaps generates a map of the most relevant articles that relate to your seed paper. The most recent articles appear on the right, the most cited articles appear at the top and the lines show the citations in-between.
Click on the dots to explore the articles, add new terms to expand your search and let Litmaps find the articles you didn’t know you needed to know about. Once you’re happy, save your new collection as a Litmap and share it. - IncitefulThe Paper Discovery tool builds a network of papers from citations, uses network analysis algorithms to analyze the network, and gives you the information you need to quickly get up to speed on that topic. You can find the most similar papers, important papers as well as prolific authors and institutions.
Literature Connector is intended for interdisciplinary scholars trying to bridge two domains, it allows you to enter two papers and it will give you an interactive visualization showing you how they are connected by the literature.