Sociology: Search by Subject

Databases by Subject Areas

In addition to the core sociological databases on the Best Bets list, also consult the subject-specific resources:

Core Sociological Databases

SocINDEX with Full Text
A comprehensive scholarly sociology studies database including over 2.1 million records classified with subject headings from a sociological thesaurus designed by subject experts. Comprehensive coverage of sociology, including all sub-disciplines and related areas of study.

License Information: There are no restrictions to the number of simultaneous users. Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and to "walk-in" users of the University of Saskatchewan Library for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. It is accessible in the library, on campus, and remotely. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and International Copyright law.
Sociological Abstracts
An abstracting and indexing bibliographic database for international literature in sociology, with content from journals, conference papers, and books. Major areas of coverage include radical sociology, substance abuse and addiction, economic development, and mass phenomena and political interactions.

License Information: There are no restrictions to the number of simultaneous users. Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and to "walk-in" users of the University of Saskatchewan Library for their occasional use, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. It is accessible in the library, on campus, and remotely. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content, including the downloading of a full issue, is not permitted by Canadian and International Copyright law.
Social Services Abstracts
Indexing and abstracting bibliographic database with over 1,300 serials, dissertations, citations, and book reviews. Content is focused on current research in social work, including poverty and homelessness, welfare services, and crisis intervention.

License Information: There are no restrictions to the number of simultaneous users. Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and to "walk-in" users of the University of Saskatchewan Library for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. It is accessible in the library, on campus, and remotely. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content, including the downloading of a full issue, is not permitted by Canadian and International Copyright law.
Academic Search Complete (ASC)
A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database indexing journals, including thousands of peer-reviewed journals. Abstracts and indexes are also included for monographs, conference proceedings, and reports.

License Information: There are no restrictions to the number of simultaneous users. Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and to walk-in users of the University of Saskatchewan Library for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. It is accessible in the library, on campus, and remotely. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and International Copyright law.
Web of Science Core Collection
A collection of nine citation databases, providing abstracts and indexing and cited reference searching to over 10,000 high impact scholarly research journals worldwide. Note: Click on "More Settings" in Basic Search to limit your search to Social Sciences Citation Index or Arts & Humanities Citation Index.

License Information: This license was negotiated by the Canadian Research Knowledge Network. There are no restrictions to the number of simultaneous users. Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and to "walk-in" users of the University of Saskatchewan Library for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. It is accessible in the library, on campus, and remotely. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content, including the downloading of a full issue, is not permitted by Canadian and International Copyright law.

Age & Elderly

APA PsycInfo
Bibliographic database "providing abstracts and citations to the scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences."

License Information: This license was negotiated by the Health Knowledge Network for the Saskatchewan Information Resources Program (SHIRP). There are no restrictions to the number of simultaneous users. Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and to "walk-in" users of the University of Saskatchewan Library for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. It is accessible in the library, on campus, and remotely. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content, including the downloading of a full issue, is not permitted by Canadian and International Copyright law.

Canadian Content

Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database (CBCA)
CBCA subsets (Business, Current Events, Education, and Reference) cover current events, culture, business, education, history, language, government etc. Sources include scholarly journals, magazines, dissertations, books, newspapers, news services and magazines.

Formerly CBCA Complete: Canadian Business & Current Affairs.

Note: For Newspaper text see Canadian Newsstream (formerly Canadian Newsstand) or Proquest databases option to add it to CBCA.

License Information: This is a Saskatchewan Multitype Database Licensing Project (MDLP) license. There are no restrictions to the number of simultaneous users. Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and to walk-in users of the University of Saskatchewan Library for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. It is accessible in the library, on campus, and remotely. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and International Copyright law.
Gale OneFile CPI.Q (Canadian Periodicals)
A full text database of articles from Canadian and International journals, magazines and reference content from Gale, all with a Canadian focus. Includes The Globe and Mail, Maclean's...

License Information: This is a Saskatchewan Multitype Library Database Licensing Project (MDLP) license. There are no restrictions to the number of simultaneous users. Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and to walk-in users of the University of Saskatchewan Library for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. It is accessible in the library, on campus, and remotely. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content, including the downloading of a full issue, is not permitted by Canadian and International Copyright law.
America: History & Life with Full Text (AHL)
Literature database covering history and culture from the United States and Canada, featuring selected journals and monographs.

CLIO Notes is a research guide for survey course topics. It features concise overviews of historical periods and chronologies as well as suggested research topics. Access CLIO Notes in the navigation bar at the top of the screen.

License Information: There are no restrictions to the number of simultaneous users. Access is restricted to the current students, faculty, and staff at the University of Saskatchewan, and to "walk-in" users of the University of Saskatchewan Libraries for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and International Copyright Law.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text
Comprehensive full text database of the literature covering the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada, covered in America: History & Life with Full Text) from 1450 forward, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and much more. HA provides selective indexing of historical articles and access to the full text of modern journals and books.

License Information: There are no restrictions to the number of simultaneous users. Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and to "walk-in" users of the University of Saskatchewan Library for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. It is accessible in the library, on campus, and remotely. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content, including the downloading of a full issue, is not permitted by Canadian and International Copyright law.

Criminology

Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text
Bibliographic and full text access to essential content for criminal justice and criminology. Hundreds of journals from around the world are indexed and available in full text.

License Information: There are no restrictions to the number of simultaneous users. Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and to "walk-in" users of the University of Saskatchewan Library for their occasional use, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. It is accessible in the library, on campus, and remotely. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content, including the downloading of a full issue, is not permitted by Canadian and International Copyright law.

National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS)
Use the open access NCJRS Abstracts Database Search to access more than 220,000 collection records and 60,000-plus online resources, including all known Office of Justice Programs works.

PAIS Index
Abstract and Index bibliographic database covering public affairs, public and social policies, international relations. It has an archive going back to 1915.

Formerly PAIS International & PAIS Archive.

License Information: There are no restrictions to the number of simultaneous users. Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and to "walk-in" users of the University of Saskatchewan Library for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. It is accessible in the library, on campus, and remotely. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content, including the downloading of a full issue, is not permitted by Canadian and International Copyright law.

Family Studies

APA PsycInfo
Bibliographic database "providing abstracts and citations to the scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences."

License Information: This license was negotiated by the Health Knowledge Network for the Saskatchewan Information Resources Program (SHIRP). There are no restrictions to the number of simultaneous users. Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and to "walk-in" users of the University of Saskatchewan Library for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. It is accessible in the library, on campus, and remotely. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content, including the downloading of a full issue, is not permitted by Canadian and International Copyright law.

Medical Sociology

APA PsycInfo
Bibliographic database "providing abstracts and citations to the scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences."

License Information: This license was negotiated by the Health Knowledge Network for the Saskatchewan Information Resources Program (SHIRP). There are no restrictions to the number of simultaneous users. Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and to "walk-in" users of the University of Saskatchewan Library for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. It is accessible in the library, on campus, and remotely. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content, including the downloading of a full issue, is not permitted by Canadian and International Copyright law.
Public Health Database
Provides access to the core public health literature from journals, dissertations, videos, and more. Current newspaper articles are also included to provide access to breaking news in public health, such as pandemics and disaster preparedness.

Formerly ProQuest Public Health.

License Information: Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and to walk-in users of the University of Saskatchewan Library for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. It is accessible in the library, on campus, and remotely. Systematic copying of online content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
Scopus
A very large abstract and index database of research literature and quality web sources covering the science, technolgy, and medicine (STM), and social sciences.

License Information: This license was negotiated by the Canadian Research Knowledge Network. There are no restrictions to the number of simultaneous users. Access is restricted to current students, faculty, staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and to "walk-in" users of the University of Saskatchewan Library for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. It is accessible in the library, on campus, and remotely. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content, including the downloading of a full issue, is not permitted by Canadian and International Copyright law.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text: Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature
A comprehensive database providing full text for more than 760 journals (450 only available in full-text through CINAHL) and abstracts and indexing for over 3000 journals covering nursing & allied health topics.

License Information: This license was negotiated by the Health Knowledge Network for the Saskatchewan Information Resources Program (SHIRP). There are no restrictions to the number of simultaneous users. Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and to "walk-in" users of the University of Saskatchewan Library for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. It is accessible in the library, on campus, and remotely. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content, including the downloading of a full issue, is not permitted by Canadian and International Copyright law.
EMBASE: Excerpta Medica & EMBASE Classic
A major biomedical and pharmaceutical database indexing "international journals in the following fields: drug research, pharmacology, pharmaceutics, toxicology, clinical and experimental human medicine, health policy and management, public health, occupational health, environmental health, drug dependence and abuse, psychiatry, forensic medicine, and biomedical engineering/instrumentation." There is selective coverage for nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, psychology, and alternative medicine. Includes the archive, EMBASE Classic back to 1947. EMBASE Excerpta Medica Database (EMBASE) is a subset of EMBASE.

License Information: This license was negotiated by the Health Knowledge Network. Access is restricted to four (4) simultaneous users. Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and to "walk-in" users of the University of Saskatchewan Library for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. It is accessible in the library, on campus, and remotely. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content, including the downloading of a full issue, is not permitted by Canadian and International Copyright law.

Security Studies

Political Science Complete (PSC)
Political Science Complete contains scholarly journals, full-text of reference books, monographs and conference papers covering political topics with a global focus. Subjects include: comparative politics, humanitarian issues, international relations, law and legislation, non-governmental organizations and political theory.

License Information: There are no restrictions to the number of simultaneous users. Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and to "walk-in" users of the University of Saskatchewan Library for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. It is accessible in the library, on campus, and remotely. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content, including the downloading of a full issue, is not permitted by Canadian and International Copyright law.
International Security & Counter Terrorism Reference Center (ISCTRC)
Full text resource covering security and counter-terrorism issues, combining news sources and scholarly writings with expert commentary from across the international political, military, economic, social and technical spectrum.

License Information: There are no restrictions to the number of simultaneous users. Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and to "walk-in" users of the University of Saskatchewan Library for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. It is accessible in the library, on campus, and remotely. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and International Copyright law.

Other Subject Guides

These other subject guides may also be of interest to your research needs.

Other Suggested Databases

Alternative Press Index & Alternative Press Index Archive
Provides access to bibliographic information about emerging theories of radical social change. Coverage is international, and focuses on socialism and revolution.

License Information: There are no restrictions to the number of simultaneous users. Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and to "walk-in" users of the University of Saskatchewan Library for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. It is accessible in the library, on campus, and remotely. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content, including the downloading of a full issue, is not permitted by Canadian and International Copyright law.
Empire Online
A digitized collection of original documents relating to Empire Studies, sourced from libraries and archives around the world. It covers: cultural contact, empire writing and literature of empire, the visible empire, religion and empire, race, class & colonialism worldwide.

License Information: This license was negotiated by the Canadian Research Knowledge Network for its Digital Content Infrastructure Project. There are no restrictions to the number of simultaneous users. Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, alumni patrons, and to "walk-in" users of the University of Saskatchewan Library for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. It is accessible in the library, on campus, and remotely. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content, including the downloading of a full issue, is not permitted by Canadian and International Copyright law.
Mass Observation Online
Digitized manuscripts and typescript papers created and collected by the Mass-Observation organisation, a pioneering social research organisation whose papers cover the cultural and social history of Britain primarily from 1937 to 1965.

License Information: This license was negotiated by the Canadian Research Knowledge Network for its Digital Content Infrastructure for the Humanities and Social Sciences. There are no restrictions to the number of simultaneous users. Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, alumni patrons, and to "walk-in" users of the University of Saskatchewan Library for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. It is accessible in the library, on campus, and remotely. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content, including the downloading of a full issue, is not permitted by Canadian and International Copyright law.