History: Modern World: Find Articles, Databases, Historical Newspaper & Journal Archives

Major Databases for Modern World History

Academic Search Complete (ASC)
A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database indexing journals, including thousands of peer-reviewed journals. Abstracts and indexes are also included for monographs, conference proceedings, and reports.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text
Comprehensive full text database of the literature covering the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada, covered in America: History & Life with Full Text) from 1450 forward, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and much more. HA provides selective indexing of historical articles and access to the full text of modern journals and books.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.

Other Subject Specific Databases for Modern World History

Alternative Press Index & Alternative Press Index Archive
Provides access to bibliographic information about emerging theories of radical social change. Coverage is international, and focuses on socialism and revolution.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials
Combines an index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion with the full text of the ATLA's online collection of more than 100 major religion and theology journals. Includes ATLA Catholic Periodical Literature Index (CPLI) records.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
Bibliography of Asian Studies Online
A record of research and scholarly literature on East, Southeast, and South Asia written in Western languages.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
ClasePeriodica
Index of Latin American journals in the sciences and humanities. Offers bibliographic citations from "documents published in 2,600 scholarly journals published in the Spanish, Portuguese, French and English languages. Contains information from articles, essays, book reviews, monographs, conference proceedings, technical reports, interviews and brief notes published in journals edited in 24 different countries of Latin America and the Caribbean, as well as from publications that focus on Pan-American issues."
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
Gale Academic OneFile Select (GAOFS)
From arts and the humanities to social sciences, science and technology, this full text database meets research needs across all academic disciplines. Access scholarly journals, news magazines, and newspapers - many with full text and images!
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
Hapi Online: Hispanic American Periodicals Index
An authoritative source for worldwide information about Latin American issues, including analyses of current political, economic, and social issues, as well as coverage of arts and letters. Includes some full text.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance
A collection of bibliographic databases, electronic journals and directories pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700) created by Iter, University of Toronto Libraries and several partners including the Arizona Center for Medieval and Renaissance Studies, Arizona State University, and the Renaissance Society of America, as well as several society affiliates. Includes links to available full text.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
PAIS Index
Abstract and Index bibliographic database covering public affairs, public and social policies, international relations. It has an archive going back to 1915.

Formerly PAIS International & PAIS Archive.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
Political Science Complete (PSC)
Political Science Complete contains scholarly journals, full-text of reference books, monographs and conference papers covering political topics with a global focus. Subjects include: comparative politics, humanitarian issues, international relations, law and legislation, non-governmental organizations and political theory.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.

Historical Journal Archives

Eighteenth Century Journals, sections I-V: A Portal to Newspapers and Periodicals, c1685-1835
Digitized image collection of newspapers and periodicals, 1685-1815. Topics are wide-ranging and include: the writings of Sir Isaac Newton, the French Revolution, reviews of literature and fashion throughout Europe, political debates, and coffee house gossip and discussion.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
JSTOR
Fulltext archive of core scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences and sciences, as well as 19th century British pamphlets. A unique e-journal database of complete backfiles of core scholarly journals in the arts and sciences. Current issues of the e-journal may be available direct from the publisher or through another e-journal aggregator such as Project MUSE. JSTOR and Project MUSE have enabled reciprocal linking for titles held in common so that users may access both current and archive holdings.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, staff, and alumni of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
Periodicals Archive Online (PAO)
An archive of over 750 historically respected journals in the humanities and social sciences, covering over 200 years of content. Each issue is digitized cover to cover, showing the content on each page.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, staff, and alumni of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
Royal Society Journals & Archive
Collection of all eight (8) Royal Society Publishing journals from volume 1, issue 1, covering the biological, mathematical, physical, and engineering sciences.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.

Historical Newspaper Archives

Seventeenth and Eighteenth Century Burney Collection Newspapers
A collection of newspapers and news pamphlets, collected by Reverend Charles Burney (1757 - 1817). This is the largest single collection of 17th and 18th century English news media, and includes over 700 bound volumes of content published mostly in London.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.

Early English newspapers [microform]
EEN combines content from the British Library’s Burney collection with that of John Nicholls, which was purchased in 1865 for the Bodleian Library.
more...less...
Titles included were selected from a list compiled from: the Times’ Tercentenary Handlist of English and Welsh Newspapers, Magazines, and Reviews; the British Museum’s Catalogue of Printed Books, Supplement: Newspapers Published in Great Britain and Ireland, 1891-1900 and its Catalogue of Newspapers Library, Colindale; and the Bodleian Library’s Pre -1920 Catalogue of Printed Books. Content is limited to newspapers published in London and its suburbs, with the British Library as the prime source for the collection and the Bodleian Library as the collection’s second source. Full listing of titles is searchable through the publisher link in our Catalogue, and all titles are searchable through individual title entries our Catalogue.

Economist Historical Archive, 1843-2020
The complete archive (1843-2020) of The Economist weekly newspaper, including fully searchable editorial, advertising, and tabular matter.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
Imperial Russian Newspapers
This collection "comprises out-of-copyright newspapers spanning the eighteenth, nineteenth and early twentieth centuries, up to the 1917 Bolshevik Revolution. The collection's core titles are from Moscow and St. Petersburg, complemented by regional newspapers across the vast Russian Empire."
This is an Open Access resource freely available on the Internet.
Independent and Revolutionary Mexican Newspapers
Nearly 1,000 titles are included in this collection from Mexico's pre-independence, independence, and revolutionary periods (1807-1929). These newspapers "provide rare documentation of the dramatic events of this era and include coverage of Mexican partisan politics, yellow press, political and social satire, as well as local, regional, national and international news. While holdings of many of the newspapers in this collection are available only in very short runs, the titles are often unique and, in many cases, represent the only existing record of a newspaper's short-lived publication."
This is an Open Access resource freely available on the Internet.
Late Qing and Republican-Era Chinese Newspapers
This collection includes newspapers in Chinese from more than twenty cities on the mainland with a focus on the first half of the twentieth century. It "provides researchers a richly comprehensive perspective on Chinese life, culture, and politics throughout the collapse of the Qing Dynasty, the years of provisional government and civil war, and the birth of the People's Republic."
This is an Open Access resource freely available on the Internet.
Latin American Newspapers, Series 1
Provides fully searchable newspapers published in the 19th and 20th centuries from Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Mexico, Peru, Venezuela, and elsewhere.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
Latin American Newspapers, Series 2
This online series includes newspapers published in English, Spanish and Portuguese from 20 countries.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
Middle Eastern and North African Newspapers
"Includes publications from across this dynamic region, providing unique insights into the history of individual countries, as well as broad viewpoints on key historic events from the late nineteenth century through the present." Much of the content has never been digitized and is predominantly in Arabic but also includes some key titles in English and French."
This is an Open Access resource freely available on the Internet.
Russian Central Newspapers: Universal Database of Russian Central Newspapers
A collection of 65 Russian central newspapers, including official resources, independent media and partisan publications. Also includes several English language newspapers, including The Moscow Times. This collection is also known as the Universal Database of Russian Central Newspapers (UDB-COM).
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
Sunday Times Historical Archive, 1822-2006
The Sunday Times offers a weekly analysis and commentary on news, theatre, sport and politics in an abundance of detail. Access to all issues from first publication in 1822 - 2006 is included.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
Times Digital Archive: 1785-2019
The complete digital edition of The Times (London), from 1785 to 2019, can be searched using advanced search techniques, or browsed by date. Search results include "full facsimile images of either a specific article or a complete page. The entire newspaper is captured, with all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos divided into categories to facilitate searching."
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
Waterloo Directory of English Newspapers and Periodicals: 1800-1900. Series 3
A directory that includes many nineteenth century periodicals as well as newspapers. "A subject-inclusive, language-inclusive bibliography of 73,000 publications, 68,000 personal names, 6,300 issuing bodies, 2,400 publishing towns, 23,000 title pages, 2,000 subjects." Editor John S. North.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.