History: Modern World: Archival Resources
Databases with Archival Content
-
AM Research SkillsAn online learning tool for primary source literacy that can be used for classroom-based and online teaching, as well as for independent study.
-
Archives of Sexuality and Gender: LGBTQ History and CultureMajor collection of primary sources for the historical study of sex, sexuality, and gender. With material dating back to the sixteenth century, researchers and scholars can examine how sexual norms have changed over time, health and hygiene, the development of sex education, the rise of sexology, changing gender roles, social movements and activism, erotica, and many other interesting topical areas. This growing archival program offers rich research opportunities across a wide span of human history.
-
British and Irish Women's Letters and Diaries: 1500 to 1950Primary sources, such as diaries and letters, written by 500 women spanning several hundred years. Includes author biographies and an annotated bibliography of sources.
-
The British Union of Fascists: 1933-1953This British Archives collection charts the rise and fall of fascism in Britain during the 1930s and 1940s, with a particular focus on Oswald Mosleys blackshirt movement.
-
China: Trade, Politics and Culture, 1793-1980: Sources from the School of Oriental and African Studies and The British Library, LondonA digital collection of English-language sources relating to China and the West, 1793-1980.
-
Defining Gender, 1450-1910A digitized collection of original documents relating to Gender Studies, sourced from libraries and archives around the world. It has five thematic sections: Conduct and Politeness, Domesticity and the Family, Consumption and Leisure, Education and Sensibility, and The Body.
-
East India CompanyEast India Company comprises two modules.
Module I: Trade, Governance and Empire consists of the India Office Records: this is material generated by the East India Company's London headquarters and top-level material sent back by Company servants overseas.
Module II: Factory Records for South Asia and South East Asia consist of papers sent to London from the East India Company's trading posts, including letters, official trading diaries, accounts of the Company's embassies to rulers, proceedings of provincial councils and revenue boards, military documents and account books. -
Electronic EnlightenmentProvides access to "the web of correspondence between the greatest thinkers and writers of the long 18th century and their families and friends, bankers and booksellers, patrons and publishers."
-
Empire OnlineOriginal documents relating to Empire Studies, organized into five thematic sections: Section I: Cultural Contacts, 1492-1969; Section II: Empire Writing and the Literature of Empire; Section III: The Visible Empire; Section IV: Religion and Empire; Section V: Race, Class and Colonialism, 1607-2007. Empire Online is cross-searchable with Global Commodities: Trade, Exploration and Cultural Exchange.
-
English Historical Documents OnlineAn annotated collection of British historical documents from 500 to 1914, covering a wide range of topics. Primary sources include treaties, statutes, declarations, government proceedings, military dispatches, orders, acts, sermons, newspaper articles, pamphlets, letters, diaries, and more.
-
Evangelism in China: Correspondence of the Board of Foreign Mission, 1837 to 1911The records of the Presbyterian Church's Board of Foreign Missions provide invaluable information on social conditions in China and on efforts to spread the gospel during the nineteenth century. Documenting the church’s educational, evangelical, and medical work, these are records mainly of incoming correspondence from the mission field and outgoing correspondence from the Board headquarters.
-
First World WarIncludes a wide range of primary resources such as diaries and journals, letters and postcards, scrapbooks and albums, photographs and 360° views of personal items and objects, oral histories, sketches and paintings, sheet music, photographs, war art, cartoons and comics, propaganda and recruiting posters and trench maps.
Module 1: Personal Experiences
Module 2: Propaganda and Recruitment
Module 3: Visual Perspectives and Narratives -
Frontier Life: Borderlands, Settlement & Colonial EncountersPrimary source documents from the 17th century to the mid-20th century, covering the regions and colonial frontiers of North America, Africa, Australia and New Zealand.
-
Global Commodities: Trade, Exploration and Cultural ExchangeVisual, manuscript and printed materials detailing the history of 15 major global commodities.
-
India, Raj and EmpireSouth Asian manuscripts from papers of East India Company representatives and colonial officials to records of daily life in Agra, Bombay, Lahore, and Madras in the 18th and 19th centuries.
-
Making of the Modern WorldUnique primary sources that track the development of the modern, Western world through the lens of history, political science, social conditions, technology and industry, economics, area studies, and more.
-
Mass Observation OnlineManuscripts and typescript papers created and collected by the Mass-Observation organisation whose papers cover the cultural and social history of Britain primarily from 1937 to 1965.
-
Medical Services & WarfarePrimary source materials about the history of illness and treatment as influenced by wars. Module I, 1850-1927. Module II, 1928-1949.
-
Oral History OnlineA database indexing oral history narratives, interviews, and other English language oral histories relevant to 20th and 21st century modern world history from academic, cultural, and government repositories. Collections within the database span diverse geographical areas and historical events, such as: the Argentina Project and the China Missionaries Project (Columbia University, Center for Oral History); the Oral History Project of the Vietnam Archives (Texas Tech University); Voice/Vision Holocaust Survivor Oral History Archive (University of Michigan); Cold War Oral History (George Washington University); British in India Oral Archive (British Library, National Sound Archive); the Afghanistan Provincial Reconstruction Teams Project (U.S. Institute of Peace); Living Voices (Smithsonian Institution, National Museum for the American Indian). The database includes a subject index--see Table of Contents: All Subjects (Collections), and also has search functions based in subject, geographical and date criteria—see Find Collections.
-
ORLANDO: Women's Writing in the British Isles from the Beginnings to the PresentBiographical entries on over 1000 writers, more than 850 of them British women. Also includes thousands of dated items representing events and processes in the accounts of these writers, but also in history, science, medicine, economics, the law, and other contexts.
-
Queer Pasts
A collection of primary source exhibits for students and scholars of queer history and culture. The database uses “queer” in its broadest and most inclusive sense, embracing LGBT topics as well as other sexual and gender formations that are queer. It prioritizes under-represented histories and encourages critical reflections on the archives used and materials presented.
-
Sex and SexualityCovers a broad range of topics relating to the study of human sexuality, its complexity, and its history.
Databases with Archival Content Continued
-
Perdita Manuscripts: Women Writers, 1500-1700Index of manuscripts of early modern women authors, including full digital facsimiles of over 230 selections.
-
Slavery, Abolition and Social Justice, 1490-2007Documents related to slavery and abolition studies. Topics include the varieties of slavery, the legacy of slavery, the social justice perspective and the continued existence of slavery today.
-
U.K. Parliamentary PapersThe House of Commons Parliamentary Papers (HCPP) constitutes a major resource for the historical record of Britain, its former colonies including Canada and the United States, and the wider world. It facilitates researchers’ exploration of the British perspective on historical and contemporary events through a vast and authoritative archive of official government documents from 1688 to the present. Through HCPP, researchers can seamlessly access the 18th, 19th, 20th and 21st century papers, plus the Hansard parliamentary debates.
-
U.S. Declassified Documents Online
Full text of previously classified federal records spanning the 20th and 21st centuries.
-
Victorian Popular CultureBooks and documents describing Victorian popular culture and entertainment in America, Britain, and Europe in the 19th and early 20th centuries.
-
Women Writers Online
Collection of early womens writing in English, published by the Women Writers Project at Northeastern University. It includes full transcriptions of texts published between 1526 and 1850, focusing on materials that are rare or inaccessible.
Artemis Primary Sources
-
Gale Primary SourcesArtemis Primary Sources is an integrated search tool that allows researchers to simultaneously search from primary sources from the following Gale databases which are accessible to University of Saskatchewan users: 17th and 18th Century Burney Collection; Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO); Indigenous Peoples: North America; The Making of Modern Law: Legal Treatises, 1800-1926; The Making of Modern Law: Primary Sources; The Making of Modern Law: Trials, 1600-1926; The Making of the Modern World; Nineteenth Century Collections Online (NCCO); Sabin Americana, 1500-1926; The Sunday Times Digital Archive, 1822-2006; The Times Digital Archive, 1785-2009.