History: Modern World: Images

Sources for Images: Databases

ARTstor
A non-profit repository of digital images and associated catalog data from contributing museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, and artists and artists' estates.
There are 3 levels of access to ARTstor:
Unregistered (Walk-in) users: No registration is required. Able to search, browse, and analyze images and data.
Registered users: ARTstor allows registered users to, save Image Groups, add personal notes to images, and download the Offline Image Viewer. You must register with an email address to access these services. Once registered, you can log in to your account to access these services.
Instructor-Level users This is currently restricted to faculty and staff.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, staff, and alumni of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
Oxford Art Online: OAO
Gateway to Oxford art reference works. It permits access and cross-searching in one location. The Library has licenses to the following works: The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms. Michael Clarke and Deborah Clarke, 2001 edition, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics. Edited by Michael Kelly, 1998 edition, The Oxford Companion to Western Art. Edited by Hugh Brigstocke 2001 edition, Benezit Dictionary of Artists. Advisory editor Stephen J. Bury, based on 2006 edition. Cross-searchable with Grove Art Online.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.

Sources for Images: Library Collections

The British Library Online Gallery
Note: Website is temporarily down due to a cyberattack.
Europeana
Multi-lingual online collection of millions of digitized items from European museums, libraries, archives and multi-media collections.

Castro Addressing Crowd, Havana, May 1964 - University Archives & Special Collections. A.W. Purdy Digital Archives, MSS 4/vi_3. Photographs