Images from the History of Medicine (NLM)
Comprising almost 70,000 images from the Prints and Photographs Collection as well as other collections held in the History of Medicine Division, IHM is one of the largest image databases in the world dedicated to images of medicine, dentistry, public health, the health professions, and health institutions.
Images @ PubMedCentral
Images database comprises approximately 3 million images from biomedical literature deposited in full text resources at the NCBI, including journal articles in PubMed Central. This is a great source for searching for articles based on graphs, images, etc. in the article. Do a search, and look for image results on the right.
An extensive collection that offers free illustrations, photos, sound, and animations.
The Health Education Assets Library (HEAL) is a digital library of multimedia teaching resources for the health sciences. HEAL provides access to tens of thousands of images, videoclips, animations, presentations, and audio files that support healthcare education.
best for photographs and screenshots. Use JPG when small file size is more important than high image quality (e.g. screen display). JPG can be used for printed materials but should be saved at a (higher) print quality than files for screen use only
By Mdf (Own work) [GFDL (http://www.gnu.org/copyleft/fdl.html) or CC-BY-SA-3.0
best for logos, clip art, and graphics with solid areas of colour. Not used for photos or graphics with gradients and many colours. PNG is a lossless, small file size format good for screen display. It supports transparent backgrounds. PNG was developed to replace GIF.
Can be used in the same place as PNG. GIFs are small file size, low resolution images used on websites. This format support transparent backgrounds and is also used for short animations. LibGuides does not support animated GIFS but you can use still GIFS (similar to PNGs)
best for photographs and graphic design elements that need to be high quality. TIFF is a lossless format and is often used for professional work in programs like Photoshop and InDesign. TIFFs are usually very large files and are used for high quality printed materials, do not use for web graphics.
An interactive study tool from Primal Pictures, providing a detailed 3D model of the human anatomy. As of December 2017, this resource was upgraded to the re-designed platform that provides a more contemporary, intuitive and consistent experience. Access Note: Videos play in pop-up windows, you must have pop-ups enabled to view. Please Note: Effective December 31, 2020 Flash is no longer supported and access to Quizzing and SLP modules is no longer available.
License Information: This license agreement was negotiated by the Health Knowledge Network. Access is restricted to twenty-five (25) simultaneous users. Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and to "walk-in" users of the University of Saskatchewan Library for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. It is accessible in the library, on campus, and remotely. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content, including the downloading of a full issue, is not permitted by Canadian and International Copyright law.
Can I Use that Picture? Copyright Issues with Images