Public Health: Evidence Based Public Health

6S Model

At present, there are no "systems" available for Public Health.

DynaMed
Topics include concise summaries and detailed recommendations based on the most current evidence. For seamless and secure access to DynaMed, please upgrade to the latest version of Firefox, Chrome, or Edge.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
Trip
A clinical search engine which provides high-quality research evidence in support of practice/care. Clinicians can search for images, videos, patient information leaflets, educational courses and news. Users may access DynaMed through Trip: after performing your search click on the DynaMed tab to see further results. Access Note: You must first "sign up" to create an account. Midway down the "sign up" page you will be asked for you institution. This will allow easy linking between Trip and our full-text holdings. Scroll down until you find the University of Saskatchewan. Make sure to save your profile when you finish.
This is an Open Access resource freely available on the Internet. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.To access full text, you must authenticate with your NSID.

Canadian Best Practices Portal for Health Promotion and Chronic Disease Prevention
NOTE: this site has been archived, and is not being updated. Conveniently pulls together data, government strategies, guidance and systematic reviews. Click on "Public Health Topics" in the blue menu bar.

ACCESSSS
ACCESSSS is a federated search engine which provides current best evidence for clinical decisions. It conducts literature searches simultaneously in several different evidence-based information services.
*Note:* Users will have to create an account to search for resources.
This is an open access resource freely available on the Internet. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.

Canadian Task Force on Preventative Health Care
Appraisal of guidelines produced by other organizations as a complement to the production of CTFPHC clinical practice guidelines.

Clinical Key
An excellent collection of Clinical Practice Guidelines, including Canadian guidelines. Select "Guidelines" from the drop down menu next to the search bar.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.

CPG Infobase
Includes approximately 1,200 CPGs developed or endorsed by authoritative medical or health organizations in Canada
National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE)
Covers topics including: conditions and diseases, public health, treatments, and procedures and devices.

Health Evidence
Access to over 7000 quality-rated systematic reviews evaluating the effectiveness and cost-effectiveness of public health interventions, including cost data. From McMaster University.
The Community Guide
A collection of evidence-based findings of the Community Preventive Services Task Force (CPSTF) of the US. It is a resource to help you select interventions to improve health and prevent disease in your state, community, community organization, business, healthcare organization, or school.

Health Evidence
Access to over 7000 quality-rated systematic reviews evaluating the effectiveness and cost-effectiveness of public health interventions, including cost data. From McMaster University.
Public Health +
From McMaster University, a database of only high quality pre-appraised studies and reviews relevant to public health. This database was designed to help busy public health practitioners access high quality and newsworthy evidence.

Cochrane Library
A collection of databases that contain high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. Cochrane reviews represent the highest level of evidence on which to base clinical treatment decisions.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.

Agency for Health Care Research and Quality (AHRQ) - USA
The AHRQ' of the USA produces evidence to make health care safer, higher quality, more accessible, equitable, and affordable.
Epistemonikos
Epistemonikos is a collaborative, multilingual database of health evidence, including systematic reviews relevant for health-decision making. Aimed at aimed to health professionals, researchers and health decision-makers.

You can find summaries of well-conducted studies in the following journals:

ACP Journal Club
"ACP Journal Club summarizes the best new evidence for internal medicine from over 120 clinical journals. Research staff from McMaster University and clinical editors rigorously assess the scientific merit of the medical literature as it is published and a worldwide panel of over 3600 physicians assesses the clinical relevance and newsworthiness of rigorous studies."
Evidence Based Medicine
more...less...
Journal searches other medical journals for validity of their research. Experts critically appraises the validity and provide commentary on their findings and implications for clinical practice.

PubMed
Index and abstract database covering the fields of "medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and preclinical sciences.
This is an Open Access resource freely available on the Internet. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.To access full text, you must authenticate with your NSID.
MEDLINE: Ovid MEDLINE
Major bibliographic database for clinical medicine, including: internal medicine, general medicine, primary care, family medicine, and general practice, as well as: veterinary medicine, nursing, allied health, dentistry, and pre-clinical sciences.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
Public Health Database
Provides access to the core public health literature from journals, dissertations, videos, and more. Current newspaper articles are also included to provide access to breaking news in public health, such as pandemics and disaster preparedness.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
Global Health
Covers information related to human health and communicable diseases.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.

from: https://www.nccmt.ca/tools/6s-search-pyramid

Key to the 6S Model

Systems

Integrating information from the lower levels of the hiearchy with individual patient records, systems represent the ideal source of evidence for clinical decision-making. There are currently no systems available for the discipline of public health.

Summaries

Summaries are regularly updated clinical guidelines or textbooks that integrate evidence-based information about sspecific clinical problems.

Synopsis of Syntheses

Synopses of syntheses, summarize the information found in systematic reviews. By drawing conclusions from evidence at lower levels of the pyramid, these synopses often provide sufficient information to support clinical action.

Syntheses

Commonly referred to as a systematic review, a synthesis is a comprehensive summary of all the evidence surrounding a specific research question.

Synopsis of Single Studies

Synopses of single studies summarize evidence from high-quality studies.

Single Studies

Studies represent unique research conducted to answer specific clincial questions.

Definitions from: https://hslmcmaster.libguides.com/ebm