Government Information - European Union: Primary and Official Sources

Founding Treaties of the EU in the Library Stacks

European Union : consolidated versions of the Treaty on European Union and of the Treaty establishing the European Community
Call Number: Government Publications - ZZ EU :2006E92
Consolidated versions of the Treaty on European Union and the Treaty on the Functioning of the European Union : Charter of Fundamental Rights of the European Union
Call Number: Murray 6th floor - KJE4442.3 .E8734 2010
Consolidated version of the Treaty establishing the European Atomic Energy Community (Euratom Treaty Consolidated Version)
Call Number: Murray 6th floor - KJE4443.31957.A2 2010

Debates Records and Proceedings

Selected Web Resources

Delegation of the European Commission to Canada
The Delegation of the European Commission to Canada was established in 1976. It is a fully-fledged diplomatic mission and works closely with the diplomatic missions of the EU Member States.
more...less...
McPherson Library has been designated a "European Information Corner" (EUi) receiving a copy of most European Commission periodicals and orfficial publications The official publications contain information ranging from recent policy developments in most sectors of EU activity to statistics on trade, demographics, agriculture, transport, energy and economic indicators.

While the collections contain primarily Commission documents, material from the Council of Ministers, the European Parliament and the European Court of Justice can also be found in these centres.

Search the Main Library catalog by keyword "European Commission" to locate print publications.
Europa News Room - Top EU News
Press releases from the European Union, RAPID archive, and EC daily briefing.
European Union Law
Research Guide from LLRX.com, includes search tips for Eur-Lex websites and the European Parliament website.

Getting Started: A Quick Guide to the Documentation of the European Union

The How to series is a compendium of brief guides to finding official European Union documentation and information. It is a good place to get a quick overview of the relevant sources in any number of areas.

Digital collections

Europeana
Europeana gives access to digital resources of Europe's museums, libraries, archives and audio-visual collections, such as books, paintings, films, museum objects and archival records. Around 1500 institutions such as the British Library in London, the Rijksmuseum in Amsterdam, and the Louvre in Paris are featured alongside smaller organisations throughout Europe.
JHA archive - EU Justice and Home Affairs
Douments from 1976 onwards. The archive covers the ‘TREVI’ Group on “Terrorism, Radicalisation and Extremist Violence,” (established by the governments of the then six EEC member states in 1976,) the period of “European Political Cooperation” during the 1980s, and the negotiations leading up to the Schengen and Maastricht Treaty frameworks, which set the parameters for justice and home affairs cooperation throughout the 1990s (from website).
EIA (European Information Association)
This website offers free access to select publications and materials for the European Union. The EIA will be scaled back later in 2012; however, the site contains offical documents, a how to series guide, and other valuable publications such as Horizon 2020, a 102 page information guide to innovation and research funding
for the years 2014 to 2020.