Nutrition: Find Articles

Key Nutrition Databases

MEDLINE: Ovid MEDLINE
Comprehensive database of more than 26 million biomedical journal articles.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
Natural Medicines
A resource providing information on dietary supplements, natural medicines, and complementary alternative and integrative therapies.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
PEN: Practice-based Evidence in Nutrition
Current and authoritative guide to answers to day-to-day nutrition questions encountered in dietetics practice in all settings.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
EMBASE: Excerpta Medica & EMBASE Classic
A major biomedical database which complements Medline nicely, covering Asia and Europe well.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law. .
PubMed
Index and abstract database covering the fields of medicine, nursing, pharmacy, nutrition, dentistry, veterinary medicine, rehabilitation, health care systems, and preclinical sciences. It includes access to MEDLINE and to citations for selected articles in life science journals not included in MEDLINE

Access note: As of July 2021, in order to access your personal MyNCBI account for saved search strategies, etc. you must authenticate via third-party Multi-Factor-Authentication. Authentication is not required for searching PubMed for resources.
This is an Open Access resource freely available on the Internet. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.To access full text, you must authenticate with your NSID.
Web of Science Core Collection
Search in over 10,000 high impact scholarly research journals worldwide, including Open Access journals and over 110,000 conference proceedings, and covering topics in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
Public Health Database
Provides access to the core public health literature from journals, dissertations, videos, and more.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
Global Health
A bibliographic database covering information related to human health and communicable diseases.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
Scopus
A large database of research literature and quality web sources covering the science, technology, medicine (STM), and social sciences.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.

Searching Help

Formulating your Search Strategy Research Guide
Enhance your searching skills using this step by step guide.
Help Guide for Medline (OvidSP) [PDF]
A step-by-step guide to searching the MEDLINE database.
Medline 101 Video
a short video demonstrating a basic Medline search
Medline 201 Video
a short video demonstrating a more advanced Medline search