Mathematics & Statistics: Find Journal Articles

Databases and Indexes

The University Library subscribes to many article indexing databases in all disciplines. The following are those which are most useful in finding articles on topics in math. For a complete list of all databases provided by the library, visit the A-Z List of electronic resources.

(Note: Databases index thousands of journals, the library does not subscribe to every title that the database indexes - click on the FindIt button beside each article to check if we have access).

Best Databases for Math & Stats:

MathSciNet: Mathematical Reviews on the Web
Reviews, abstracts and bibliographic information for mathematical sciences literature.

Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.

arXiv

Open access to 958,393 e-prints in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance and Statistics

Best Multidisciplinary Databases for Sciences:

Web of Science Core Collection
Citation databases providing abstracts, indexing, and cited reference searching for research journals worldwide, including Open Access journals and conference proceedings. Covers topics in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities.

Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
Scopus
Abstract and index database of research literature and quality web sources covering the sciences, technology, and medicine (STM), and social sciences.

Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
Engineering Village

Collection of databases covering scientific, applied science, technical and engineering disciplines, earth sciences, ecology, oceanography and more. Contains articles, conference proceedings and full text of engineering handbooks. Includes full-text access to Compendex and Inspec.

Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.

Other Relevant Databases:

Academic Search Complete (ASC)
A comprehensive, scholarly, multi-disciplinary database consisting of full-text articles, peer-reviewed journals, and indexing journals. Abstracts and indexes are also included for monographs, conference proceedings, and reports.

Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.

Journal Packages

A few of the journal collections, relevant to math, that the library subscribes to:

SIAM Journals Online
Archive of journals published by the society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics (SIAM).

Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
Project Euclid: Mathematics and Statistics Resources Online
A journal collection covering theoretical and applied mathematics and statistics from a variety of scholarly publishers. Access Note: While the full collection is searchable, full text is only available for open access titles or content, and titles the Library subscribes to. Browse the colour-coded list of journals for access levels.

Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
ScienceDirect

Science Direct is a portal to scholarly journals, book series, and ebooks primarily covering science, technology, and medicine and the social sciences.

Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
Annual Reviews & Backfile
A review series focused on disciplines within biomedical sciences, physical sciences, and economics.
Access Note: To receive Table of Contents automatically, you must first self-register and set up a username and password in a personal profile.

Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.

Do we subscribe to the journal you need?

To search by journal title:

change the first drop-down box to "Title"
change the second drop-down box to "All Journal Titles"
enter the full journal title in the search box
Hit the green search button.

**This search will bring up all print and electronic journal titles. If we don't subscribe to the title you need, you can request a copy of the article needed through Interlibrary Loan (it's free!).

Off-Campus Proxy Bookmarklet

To connect to any website through the USask proxy, install the USask proxy bookmarklet in your browser for quick access.

For most browsers, click, drag and drop the blue button below to your bookmarks bar.

USask Proxy Bookmarklet

Bookmarks/Favourites bar instructions for:

That's it! Now, when you hit a paywall while researching online simply click on the USask Proxy link in your bookmarks bar and the page will automatically reload to give you access to the full-text version if the library subscribes to it. You will be prompted to login with your NSID and password if you are not already logged in.

Below is a video tutorial of setting up the Proxy Bookmarklet:

Journal Info

Journal Citation Reports
Comprehensive resource that allows you to evaluate and compare journals using citation data drawn from over 11,000 scholarly and technical journals and more than 3,300 publishers in 80 countries. Part of the Web of Knowledge.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
Ulrichsweb.com: Ulrich's Periodicals Directory
An authoritative knowledgebase of information about more than 300,000 serials of all types from around the world from academic and scholarly journals, peer-reviewed titles, open access journals, online publications, newspapers and other resources. Bibliographic records provide details including ISSN and title, publisher, online availability, language, subject area, abstracting & indexing coverage, searchable tables of contents, and full-text reviews.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.

Journal Abbreviations

Science and Engineering Journal Abbreviations
Search or browse the alphabetical list of journal title abbreviations for the sciences. Very useful tool provided by UBC Library!

Google Scholar

Google Scholar can be a good place to do a quick and general search of the literature in an unfamiliar area. It is also a useful tool to look up full citations of known articles.

Using Google Scholar
These instructions outline how to update your Google Scholar settings to connect to USask Library resources.
Google Scholar Search Tips