BibTex and LaTex: Introduction to BibTex
Librarian
About BibTex
Can you write this in Word?
What is BibTex?
BibTex is a tool and a file format which are used to describe and process lists of references, mostly in conjunction with LaTeX documents.
- BibTex stores all references in a plain text database external to a LaTex document.
- References in a BibTex database can be cited in a LaTex document
- Bibliography can be created in many styles
- BibTex files have a file extension .bib
More information about BibTex can be found: http://www.bibtex.org
General BibTex database entry format:
| @ReferenceType{BibTexKey, |
| FieldName={field content}, |
| ... |
| } |
A sample BibTex database entry:
| @Article{Chishtie2008, |
| Title = {Renormalization group determination of the five-loop effective potential for massless scalar field theory}, |
| Author = {Chishtie, F.A. and McKeon, D.G.C. and Steele, T.G.}, |
| Journal = {Canadian Journal of Physics}, |
| Year ={2008}, |
| Volume = {86}, |
| Number = {4}, |
| Pages = {623-627}, |
| } |
Tutorials on Creating BibTex Database
The following is a list of YouTube videos on how to create different types of BibTex entries:
How to create a book entry in BibTex (based on TexStudio)
How to create an article entry in BibTex (based on TexStudio)
Books on LaTex
LaTex beginner's guide by
Create high-quality and professional-looking texts, articles, and books for Business and Science using LaTeX
ISBN: 9781847199874Publication Date: 2011-01-01
LaTeX in 24 Hours by
This book presents direct and concise explanations and examples to many LaTeX syntax and structures, allowing students and researchers to quickly understand the basics that are required for writing and preparing book manuscripts, journal articles, reports, presentation slides and academic theses and dissertations for publication.
ISBN: 9783319478319Publication Date: 2017-01-20
Learning LATEX by
This short, well-written book covers the material essential for learning LATEX without any unnecessary detail. It discusses incisive examples that teach LATEX in a powerful yet abbreviated fashion, including the following crucial features: numerous examples of widely used mathematical expressions; complete documents illustrating the creation of articles, reports, and overhead projector slides; troubleshooting tips to help you pinpoint an error; details of how to set up a bibliography and an index; information about LATEX resources available on the Internet. LATEX has become an extremely popular typesetting system and is widely used throughout the sciences. Students may use it to typeset reports and theses (particularly graduate students in any mathematics or computer science discipline).The authors cover LATEX 2e, the latest standard version at the time of publication. An appendix discusses the differences between 2e and the older version, 2.09.
ISBN: 0898713838Publication Date: 1997-12-01
Digital Typography Using LaTeX by
The purpose of the book is to introduce new users to the use of the TeX system, in particular document preparation using LaTeX.; It seeks to avoid the pitfalls of having to search through several advanced books on the subject, by collecting together the more frequently required tools and presenting these in a single accessible volume.; It will also describe the recent developments in multilingual typesetting using TeX that now make it straightforward for users to prepare documents in their own language and alphabet, giving the book a global readership.; The main presentation will be independent of any particular type of computer hardware, though a section will contain details of some of the more popular versions of TeX for each type of machine and details of where they can be downloaded on the Internet from, or purchased at low cost on a convenient compact disk.; Topics and features: multi-lingual uses of LaTeX; discussion of hardware implementations; use and misuse of particular LaTeX commands; some treatment of graphics; inclusion of exercises with solutions*discussion of common errors; inclusion of many examples.
ISBN: 038722436XPublication Date: 2003-12-01
More Math into LaTeX by
For over two decades, this comprehensive manual has been the standard introduction and complete reference for writing articles and books containing mathematical formulas. If the reader requires a streamlined approach to learning LaTeX for composing everyday documents, Grätzer's © 2014 Practical LaTeX may also be a good choice. In this carefully revised fifth edition, the Short Course has been brought up to date and reflects a modern and practical approach to LaTeX usage. New chapters have been added on illustrations and how to use LaTeX on an iPad. Key features: An example-based, visual approach and a gentle introduction with the Short Course A detailed exposition of multiline math formulas with a Visual Guide A unified approach to TeX, LaTeX, and the AMS enhancements A quick introduction to creating presentations with formulas From earlier reviews: Grätzer's book is a solution. --European Mathematical Society Newsletter There are several LaTeX guides, but this one wins hands down for the elegance of its approach and breadth of coverage. --Amazon.com, Best of 2000, Editor's choice A novice reader will be able to learn the most essential features of LaTeX sufficient to begin typesetting papers within a few hours of time... An experienced TeX user, on the other hand, will find a systematic and detailed discussion of LaTeX fea tures. --Report on Mathematical Physics A very helpful and useful tool for all scientists and engineers. --Review of Astronomical Tools
ISBN: 9783319237961Publication Date: 2016-02-15
LaTeX A-Z: from beginner to advanced in less than 3 hours by
Learn from beginner to advance for generating professional-quality documents with minimum of effort using LaTeX About This Video
Publication Date: 2017
