Geological Engineering 430: Mining Resources

General Search Tips

1. Be persistent! Search several different resources. Each resource will have different coverage - so if you don't find anything useful in the first resource you try, then try another!

2. Be creative! If the initial terms that you search by don't produce results, think creatively and try alternate search terms. ** This is especially true when searching for chemical substances. Substances often have numerous synonymous names and different ways of writing their formulae. Try to find the CAS Registry Number for the substance of interest - this is the widely considered the most accurate method of searching for information on a known substance. Searching by molecular structure is another accurate search method (if the database allows this means of searching).

3. Ask for help! Contact your Engineering Librarian or see other sources of help on the Ask Us page.

Government Sources

Government of Canada

Statistics Canada - Mining/Materials
Statistics about the Mining industry from Statistics Canada.
The Atlas of Canada
Map showing data about Canada's mining and mineral exploration industry.
SEDAR
Canadian Securities Administrators (CSA) provides access to most public securities documents and information filed by public companies and investment funds. Documents such as annual reports, quarterly reports and announcements.

Provincial Governments

Ontario Ministry of Northern Development and Mines
Ontario's portal to their mining industry information.
Newfoundland and Labrador Dept of Natural Resources - Mines
Newfoundland and Labrador mines information.

Industry Association Sources

Facts and Figures of the Canadian Mining Industry 2021
Mining Association of Canada publication containing information about the Canadian Mining Industry in 2021.
CIM Magazine
The online magazine of the Canadian Institute of Mining and Metallurgy.
Mining Association of British Columbia
Mining Association of BC information
Prospectors & Developers Association of Canada
Website for the PDAC.

Library Resources

Canadian and American Mines Handbook by Business Information Group
Call Number: HD9506 .C21N85
Series containing basic information about mines and mining companies in Canada. Formerly the Canadian Mines Handbook.

GeoRef & GeoRef in Process
An abstract and indexing database, established by the American Geological Institute (AGI) offering comprehensive access to the geoscience literature of the world, including journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports and theses. The geology of North America is covered back to 1669, and coverage for the rest of the world back to 1933.

GeoRef in Process is a supplement to GeoRef and contains unedited records that are still in the process of being indexed before being added to GeoRef.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar can be a great place to start your search. In order to take full advantage of Google Scholar, you can link to the materials available at the University of Saskatchewan Library. This is already done on many of the Library computers, which is why you see the "Fulltext @ UofS Library" links in your Google Scholar results. This can easily be set up on any computer by using the following steps:

1) Open the Google Scholar homepage (scholar.google.ca).

2) Click on the Settings link at the top of the page (the one with the gear next to it).

3) Choose "Library links" from the menu on the left.

4) Search for the University of Saskatchewan. This should give you two results - University of Saskatchewan and University of Saskatchewan Library. Check both of them.