Legislation Research Guide: Articles

Core Law Databases for legislation research

Saskatchewan legislation (CANLII)
Government of Saskatchewan legislation
Freelaw; free online access to current Government of Saskatchewan legislation
Provincial and Territorial case law and legislation (CANLII)
Federal legislation (CANLII)
International case law & legislation (WorldLII)

Other useful Databases

Lexis+
Lexis+ is a legal database containing comprehensive coverage of Canadian and U.S. materials, including Halsbury's Law of Canada; Jurisclasseur Quebec; Canadian court and administrative tribunal decisions, case commentaries, legislation, and legal journals. A selective coverage of International material, including Halsbury's Law of England and Jurisclasseur France are also available.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
HeinOnline
A collection of digitized U.S. historical and current law and law-related material in PDF format. The Library currently subscribes to the following collections: Law Journal Library, American Association of Law Libraries (AALL), Association of American Law Schools (AALS), Australian and Canadian Acts of the Parliament, Canada Supreme Court Reports, Code of Federal Regulations, Congress and the Courts : a Legislative History 1787-2010, Early American Case Law, English Reports, European Center for Minority Issues, Federal Register Library, Legal Classics,Manual of Patent Examining Procedure (MPEP), Pentagon Papers, Philip C. Jessup Library, Revised Statutes of Canada, Statutes of the Realm, Treaties and Agreements Library, United States Code, U.S. Attorney General & Department of Justice Collection, U.S. Federal Legislative History Library, U.S. Presidential Library, U.S. Statutes at Large, U.S. Supreme Court Library, Civil Rights and Social Justice, Open Society Justice Initiative, and World Constitutions Illustrated.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
Proview
Online platform to access all Thomson Reuters looseleaf/updater service titles, including Native Law, Insurance Law in Canada, and Electronic Evidence in Canada, as well as any other titles the Library subscribes to in print/hardcopy.
Access Note: Most titles from ProView are now available through Topical Text & Annotations (TTA).
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
LegalTrac
Indexes titles including major law reviews, legal newspapers, bar association journals and international legal journals and full text law-related articles from over 1,000 additional business and general interest titles.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.

USearch

Not sure which database to start looking in? USearch is a cross-platform search tool that allows you to search the Library Catalogue and a variety of databases at the same time. Your search results will include the library's online and print collections.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar can be a good place to do a quick and general search of the literature in an unfamiliar area. It is also a useful tool to look up full citations of known articles.

Notices will appear on the right of the search results with links to the UofS FindIt and FullText.