USask Library and Archival Resources: Diefenbaker Archives

About 1/3 of the textual material in the John G. Diefenbaker fonds has been microfilmed. Copies of the microfilm are available at the University of Saskatchewan and Library and Archives Canada (LAC). University of Saskatchewan copies may be borrowed through inter-library loan; see more information below.

Series on microfilm include:

• Series I, Legal Series
• Series II, Pre-1940 Series
• Series III, 1940-1956 Series
• Series IV, Leader of the Official Opposition, Dec. 1956-June 1957 Series
• Series V, Family Series
• Series VI, PMO Numbered Correspondence Series
• Series VII, Reference Series
• Series VIII, PMO Unnumbered Correspondence Series
• Series XII, Personal and Confidential Series

Methods for looking up microfilm numbers are summarized below.

• Textual database (see search tips)
• For Series 7, 8, 9, and 12, see this reel index by volume and page number, which also includes a crosswalk to LAC numbering for all series. If you are using the microfilm at LAC, please take note of the difference in numbering for part of series 6 and all later series.

Microfilm reels from the John Diefenbaker fonds may be borrowed by libraries and archives with the appropriate equipment, subject to the following conditions:

• Up to four reels may be loaned at a time
• The loan period is four weeks
• The microfilm reels must be used at the borrowing institution, and stored securely when not in use
• The borrowing institution is responsible for secure delivery and return of the reels.
  • On the loan request, the borrowing institution needs to provide their Purolator account number in the "notes" field. (Alternatively, if you anticipate a series of requests, please contact us so that we can keep this information on file.)
  • The reels must be returned to the U of S via courier

On the request form, please ensure that "University Archives & Special Collections, John Diefenbaker fonds" is included along with the reel number. If the borrowing institution does not use an ILL system, or you wish to take advantage of additional space for special instructions, please visit the Interlibrary Loan's webpage for more information.

Requests need to be submitted to the Interlibrary Loan service of the University Library. However, we encourage you to contact University Archives & Special Collections prior to initiating an inter-library loan request, so that we may discuss your reference enquiry in more detail, and help you ensure that you are requesting the correct reels.