Comparative Philosophy: Chinese Philosophy
Confucianism Resources
Selected books on Confucianism available at the University of Saskatchewan Library.
Confucius and Confucianism by This comprehensive introduction explores the life and teachings of Confucius, and development of Confucian thought, from ancient times to the present today.
Confucianism in China by This book explains the origins of the Ru and documents their impact in imperial China, before providing extensive coverage of the modern era. Confucianism in China: An Introduction shows how the long history of the Ru is vital to comprehending China today. As the empire drew to an end, there were impassioned movements both to reinvent and to eradicate Ru tradition. Less than forty years ago, it seemed close to extinction, but today it is undergoing spectacular revival.
An Introduction to Confucianism by Taking into account the history and range of Confucian Studies, this book introduces Confucianism - initiated in China by Confucius (551 BC-479 BC) - primarily as a philosophical and religious tradition. It draws together the many strands of Confucianism in a style accessible to students, teachers, and general readers
Anthology of Sacred Texts
Yi Jing (I Ching)
I Ching by Unaltered republication of the second edition of the work first published ... in 1899 as volume XVI of 'The Sacred books of the East' and with the special designation of part II of 'The Texts of Confucianism.
The Complete I Ching by Master Huang has restored the true essence of the "I Ching" by emphasizing the unity of Heaven and humanity and the "Tao of Change," and by including translations of the "Ten Wings," the commentaries by Confucius.
Analects of Confucius
- Analects of Confucius by Publication Date: 1938-01-01
Ta hio (The Great Learning)
Mencius
Mencius by The Confucian philosopher, Mencius (c.371-288 BC) explicated his master's moral principles and reinterpreted them for the harsh conditions of the 4th century BC, when they were threatened by the aggressive and amoral doctrines of legalism. With its stress on the thinking heart (or individual conscience), Mencius is a defence of morality in private and public life.
Doctrine of the Mean
Confucian Analects, the Great Learning and the Doctrine of the Mean by The book also includes The Great Learning and The Doctrine of the Mean. In addition to the texts and translation, a wealth of helpful material is offered to the reader: countless notes embodying textual studies, commentators' opinions, interpretation of individual characters, disputed meanings, and similar material.
The Encyclopedia of Confucianism by The Encyclopedia, the first of its kind, introduces Confucianism as a whole, with 1,235 entries giving full information on its history, doctrines, schools, rituals, sacred places and terminology, and on the adaptation, transformation and new thinking taking place in China and other Eastern Asian countries.
The Illustrated Encyclopedia of ConfucianismThis comprehensive, two-volume encyclopedia clearly and effectively defines the major forces of Confucianism and shows us its relevance for the present day. This volume features over 2,000 thoroughly cross-referenced entries listed alphabetically describe the major beliefs and practices of Confucianism. Contents by subject section categorizes entries thematically: Art, Architecture, and Iconography; Astrology, Cosmology, and Mythology; Biographical Entries; Ceremonies, Practices, and Rituals; Concepts; Geography; Literature and Language; Music; Rulers and Dynasties; Schools and Groups; and Texts.
Taoism Resources
The Shambhala Dictionary of Taoism by Defines over three hundred terms and concepts related to Taoism and identifies key teachers and philosophers.
Historical Dictionary of Taoism by This book provides a readable overview while simultaneously giving sufficient detail about the intricate and beautiful complexities of Taoism.
The a to Z of Taoism by This volume starts with a detailed chronology of Taoism and its relationship both to China and other teachings. The introduction inserts it further in this basic context. Then the dictionary section, consisting of several hundred cross-referenced entries, provides a more detailed treatment of significant persons, nonpersons (gods and demons), concepts, practices, rituals, scriptures, and schools. The bibliography suggests further reading.
The Encyclopedia of Taoism by The Encyclopedia of Taoism provides comprehensive coverage of Taoist religion, thought and history, reflecting the current state of Taoist scholarship. This book has over 1,750 entries, which fall into the following broad categories: surveys of general topics; schools and traditions; persons; texts; terms; deities; immortals; temples and other sacred sites. Terms are given in their original characters, transliterated and translated. Entries are thoroughly cross-referenced and, in addition, 'see also' listings are given at the foot of many entries.
Lao-Tzu and the Tao-Te-Ching by Examines the traditional and modern Western interpretations of the Tao-te-ching, and its author, Lao-tzu.
Picture
Song, B. (2020). Noah Campeau for Noema Magazine [Photograph]. Noema. https://www.noemamag.com/applying-ancient-chinese-philosophy-to-artificial-intelligence/
Recomend a Purchase
- Request a PurchaseUse this online form to suggest items for purchase.
Scholar reviews
- ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerialsCombines an index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion with the full text of the ATLA's online collection of more than 100 major religion and theology journals. Includes ATLA Catholic Periodical Literature Index (CPLI) records.