Comparative Philosophy: Korean Philosophy
Korean Philosophhy overview
Korean philosophy focuses on mainly Shamanism and Buddhism that offers rich and complex beliefs and practices that have shaped the country's cultural and spiritual landscape. Shamanism is one of Korea's oldest and most indigenous spiritual traditions, which revolves around the belief in a world inhabited by spirits that can be communicated with through rituals performed by shamans. Buddhism was introduced to Korea around the 4th century from China and has played a central role in shaping Korean spirituality. It brought with it a comprehensive philosophical framework and practices aimed at enlightenment and compassion. Over the centuries, Buddhism in Korea has evolved, integrating with local customs and beliefs, leading to a unique form of Buddhism that emphasizes both meditation and ritual practices. Together, Shamanism and Buddhism continue to influence Korean society, offering diverse pathways to understanding the spiritual world and guiding principles for ethical living.
Buddhism Resources
The Princeton Dictionary of Buddhism by With more than 5,000 entries totaling over a million words, this is the most comprehensive and authoritative dictionary of Buddhism ever produced in English. It is also the first to cover terms from all of the canonical Buddhist languages and traditions: Sanskrit, Pali, Tibetan, Chinese, Japanese, and Korean.
Historical Dictionary of Buddhism by The Historical Dictionary of Buddhism covers and clarifies Buddhist concepts, significant figures, movements, schools, places, activities, and periods.
International Encyclopaedia of Buddhism by Spanning 75 volumes, this massive encyclopedia set covers all aspects of Buddhism as it is practiced around the world.
Encyclopedia of Buddhism by Reflects the current state of scholarship in Buddhist Studies, its entries being written by specialists in many areas, presenting an accurate overview of Buddhist history, thought and practices, most entries having cross-referencing to others and bibliographical references. Contain around 1000 pages and 500,000 words, totaling around 1200 entries.
The words of the Buddha were carried down through oral tradition after his death and later complied collections called suttas (Pali) or sutras (Sanskrit). Knowing the Sanskrit and/or Pali name of the sutras will make it easier to find in the library.
Pali Canon
Some Mahayana Sūtras
The Heart of Buddhist Wisdom by This is a translation of the Heart Sutra, a text which contains elements indigenous to early Buddhism, but which also represents a new mystical vision."
The Vimalakirti Sutra by One of the most popular Asian classics for roughly two thousand years, the Vimalakirti Sutra stands out among the sacred texts of Mahayana Buddhism for its conciseness, its vivid and humorous episodes, its dramatic narratives, and its eloquent exposition of the key doctrine of emptiness or nondualism. Unlike most sutras, its central figure is not a Buddha but a wealthy townsman, who, in his mastery of doctrine and religious practice, epitomizes the ideal lay believer. For this reason, the sutra has held particular significance for men and women of the laity in Buddhist countries of Asia, assuring them that they can reach levels of spiritual attainment fully comparable to those accessible to monks and nuns of the monastic order.
Shamanism Resources
Picture
Pentagram with Five Elements "Spirit, Water, Fire, Earth, Air" by Jakub Jankiewicz source: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wicca#/media/File:Five_elements_and_pentagram.svg
Recomend a Purchase
- Request a PurchaseUse this online form to suggest items for purchase.