Comparative Philosophy: A Guide to Writing Papers
Assignment Planner
- Assignment PlannerThe research paper planner will provide you with resources and helpful tips to guide you through the steps of the research and writing process. To start, simply enter the dates that you plan to work on your paper.
Writing in Religion & Culture Guides
Making Sense in Religious Studies by This book offers up-to-date, detailed information on writing essays and short assignments, doing comparative research, evaluating internet sources, proper documentation, avoiding plagiarism, reading religious texts, learning foreign languages, and more.
Stylish academic writing by Individual chapters take up specific elements of style, such as titles and headings, chapter openings, and structure, and close with examples of transferable techniques that any writer can master.
Writing Help
University Library Writing Centre
The Writing Centre provides free, one-to-one help at any stage of the writing process, both online and in person.
The Writing Centre's help guide provides a wealth of writing resources for students (including information about tutoring and workshops) and teaching resources for faculty.
Be sure to check out writing workshops geared to undergrads and grad students (all are welcome at either level). Attend a live workshop or watch a workshop recording on your own time.
Department of Philosophy Help Centre
The Philosophy Help Centre has Philosophy graduate student tutors read first drafts and give advice about how to strengthen the argument(s) of essays, offer suggestions for improving organization, and point out weaknesses and places where more detail or clarity is needed. The Philosophy Help Centre cannot provide philosophical advice or provide judgments about the material students are writing about.
English Language Dictionaries
- Dictionary of Old English: A-Le: DOEonline
A dictionary of Old English vocabulary from the first six centuries (600 - 1150 A.D.) of the English language. The DOEonline complements the Middle English Dictionary (1100-1500 A.D.) and the Oxford English Dictionary, which documents the development of the English language to the present. Together, the three resources provide a full description of the vocabulary of English. Access Note: A screen setting of 1024 x 768 pixels is preferable. DOE font is required to display the pages properly. A free download is available.
- LEME: Lexicons of Early Modern English"A historical database of monolingual, bilingual, and polyglot dictionaries, lexical encyclopedias, hard-word glossaries, spelling lists, and lexically-valuable treatises surviving in print or manuscript from the Tudor, Stuart, Caroline, Commonwealth, and Restoration periods." This is a source of "contemporary comments" in published lexicons and other sources of the day, that illustrate word usage in the periods covered by the Short-title and Wing catalogues.
- Oxford English Dictionary (OED Online)
The "accepted authority on the English language. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of 600,000 words past and present from across the English-speaking world. As a historical dictionary, the OED is very different from those of current English, in which the focus is on present-day meanings. You'll still find these in the OED, but you'll also find the history of individual words, and of the language traced through 3 million quotations, from classic literature and specialist periodicals to films scripts and cookery books."