French Studies: Find Articles

Databases for finding articles

Core
Additional

Erudit
A collection of over 170 scholarly electronic journals, several books and proceedings, primarily published in Quebec and Canada in the French language and covering a wide range of disciplines in the human, social and natural sciences. Also includes a portal to french language theses available from Quebec and international locations. The Quebec journals are supported by the Fonds quebecois de rechercher sur la societ et la culture (Quebec fund for research on society and culture). Includes 3 collections: Scholarly Journals, Scholarly Journals (Additional Titles), Cultural Magazines. Access Note: A search in Erudit will permit authorized users to retrieve articles published in NRC Research Press, and vice versa.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, staff, and alumni of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.

Persée
An open access collection of scientific journals in French, covering the humanities and social sciences, including anthropology, archaeology, arts, economics, education, geography, history, information and communication sciences, law, linguistics, literature, philosophy, political science, psychology, social sciences, and sociology. Access Note: Create a free account to access more functionality.

Canadiana Online
A service providing unified full-text search and access to three major collections of digitized Canadian documentary heritage: the Monographs collection, spanning three and a half centuries of Canadian documentary history and holds rich primary materials exploring a wide range of subjects and disciplines, the Serials collection includes a wide range of dailies, weeklies, specialized journals and mass-market magazines, as well as city directories and annual reports from churches, schools, and corporations and specialized publications include trade or industry journals as well as many mens, womens, students and childrens popular magazines, and the Government Publications collection includes over 1.7 million pages of historical pre-1920 colonial, provincial and federal government documents.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, staff, and alumni of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
ARTFL Project: American and French Research on the Treasury of the French Language
A collection of databases and individual works providing access to over 3,000 full text French language texts covering all areas of French studies, including: literature, philosophy, arts, and the sciences. Collections include works by early French women writers, as well as works by pre-1920 writers, including Balzac, Corneille, Diderot, Dumas, Flaubert, Zola, etc.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
MLA International Bibliography
Bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), covering international literature, linguistics and folklore research. Coverage is international and includes indexing and links to titles from JSTOR language and literature collection.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
JSTOR
Fulltext archive of core scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences and sciences, as well as 19th century British pamphlets. A unique e-journal database of complete backfiles of core scholarly journals in the arts and sciences. Current issues of the e-journal may be available direct from the publisher or through another e-journal aggregator such as Project MUSE. JSTOR and Project MUSE have enabled reciprocal linking for titles held in common so that users may access both current and archive holdings.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, staff, and alumni of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text
Comprehensive full text database of the literature covering the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada, covered in America: History & Life with Full Text) from 1450 forward, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and much more. HA provides selective indexing of historical articles and access to the full text of modern journals and books.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
America: History & Life with Full Text (AHL)
Literature database covering history and culture from the United States and Canada, featuring selected journals and monographs.

CLIO Notes is a research guide for survey course topics. It features concise overviews of historical periods and chronologies as well as suggested research topics. Access CLIO Notes in the navigation bar at the top of the screen.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
eHRAF World Cultures
A cross-cultural database containing information on all aspects of cultural and social life. Information is organized into cultures and ethnic groups and the full-text sources are subject-indexed at the paragraph level. eHRAF databases are unique in their ability to search full-texts using subjects to find relevant paragraphs. A subject code search can be even more successful than a keyword search. For subject code searching and other information, consult the eHRAF help files.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, staff, and alumni of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.

Academic Search Complete (ASC)
A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database indexing journals, including thousands of peer-reviewed journals. Abstracts and indexes are also included for monographs, conference proceedings, and reports.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database (CBCA)
CBCA subsets (Business, Current Events, Education, and Reference) cover current events, culture, business, education, history, language, government etc. Sources include scholarly journals, magazines, dissertations, books, newspapers, news services and magazines.

Formerly CBCA Complete: Canadian Business & Current Affairs.

Note: For Newspaper text see Canadian Newsstream (formerly Canadian Newsstand) or Proquest databases option to add it to CBCA.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
Gale OneFile CPI.Q
A full text database of articles from Canadian and International journals, magazines and reference content from Gale, all with a Canadian focus. Includes The Globe and Mail, Maclean's, Canadian News Facts, and reference materials, including the Canadian Parliamentary Guide and Canadian Newsmakers. The interface is bilingual (English and French).
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
Electronic Enlightenment
Provides access to "the web of correspondence between the greatest thinkers and writers of the long 18th century and their families and friends, bankers and booksellers, patrons and publishers." Includes online access to over 53,000 letters and documents from the best critical editions from nearly 6,000 correspondents in original languages - includes letters in French, German, and Italian as well as English. There are nearly 230,000 scholarly annotations and over 80,000 document sources including both manuscripts and early editions. Includes external links to biographical information. Note that the Library has licenses to only some of the links, including the Oxford Dictionary of National Biography.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
Gale Literature Resource Center (GLRC)
Includes biographical, bibliographical, and critical articles on "literary figures from all time periods writing in such genres as fiction, nonfiction, poetry, drama, history, journalism, and more." LRC is built on Thomson Gale's three hallmark author databases: Contemporary Authors Online (CA), Contemporary Literary Criticism Select (CLCS), and Dictionary of Literary Biography Online (DLC).
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
Project MUSE
Access to the full text of high quality humanities, arts, and social sciences journals from scholarly publishers. MUSE is also the sole source of complete, full-text versions of titles from many of the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies.The complete content of each and every journal issue is online, including all charts, graphics and images. There are no embargoes on journal content in MUSE the MUSE issue typically appears online before the print version is mailed.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, staff, and alumni of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
Web of Science Core Collection
Collection of citation databases, providing abstracts and indexing and cited reference searching to over 10,000 high impact scholarly research journals worldwide, including Open Access journals and over 110,000 conference proceedings, and covering topics in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.