French Studies: Find Books
Search University of Saskatchewan Library Catalogue for books & journals
*Note: To search for individual journal articles see Articles page of this guide.
E-Books
- ACUP/APUC eBound Collection
A collection of over 3,000 ebooks published by Association of Canadian University Presses/Association Des Presses Universitaires Canadiennes (ACUP/APUC) publishers. Comprises works published up to and including 2022.
- Amalivre
A collection of 98 French e-books in the subjects of Art, Art History, Literature, History and Cinema.
- Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB)The Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB) provides a searchable index to peer-reviewed monographs and edited volumes published under an open access model, with links to the full texts of the publications at the publisher’s website or repository.
OAPEN ebooks are also available via this entry. - HathiTrust
The HathiTrust collection is comprised of over 17 million volumes in hundreds of languages. The titles are digitized versions of print books and serials from the collections of over 50 academic and research libraries around the world. The collection covers a wide range of disciplines – including Languages and Literature, Social Sciences, Sciences, and Arts – in hundreds of languages (51% of the collection is in English, with large numbers of volumes in French, German, Spanish, Chinese, and Russian) and includes 1.3 million US federal government documents. Access Note: Click on the yellow Log In button and select University of Saskatchewan as your Partner Institution.
- EuropeanaMulti-lingual online collection of millions of digitized items from European museums, libraries, archives and multi-media collections.
- Internet Archive TextArchiveA collection of over 4.5 million open access (OA) ebooks and etexts. The collections include mostly out-of-copyright titles contributed by American and Canadian Libraries, a selection of titles from the Universal Library, Community Texts titles contributed by volunteers, Project Gutenberg titles, a Children's Library collection, the Biodiversity Heritage Library, and several smaller collections. IA can be an invaluable source for hard to find books and texts, especially in digitized page image format.
Searching the library effectively
Materials on French and French Culture can be found in the USask Library using some of these suggested subject headings:
- French Dramato be more specific, add the name of the century after the word 'drama'. For example, French Drama 19th Century
- French Fictionto be more specific, add the name of the century after the word 'fiction'. For example, French Fiction 20th Century
- French Literatureto be more specific, add the name of the century after the word 'literature'. For example, French Literature 17th century
- French Poetryto be more specific, name the century after the word 'poetry'. For example, French Poetry 21st century
image
"Bibliotèque" by Oliver Jape is licensed under CC0 BY 2.0