French Cinema/Films: Find Articles

French Film Reviews and Criticism

MLA International Bibliography
Modern Language Association (MLA), covering international literature, linguistics and folklore research. Coverage is international.

Add the phrase "film theory and criticism" to your search to focus your results.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
Gale Academic OneFile Select (GAOFS)
From arts and the humanities to social sciences, science and technology, this full text database meets research needs across all academic disciplines. Access scholarly journals, news magazines, and newspapers

Add the phrase "Movie criticism" to your search to focus your results.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
Academic Search Complete (ASC)
A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database indexing journals, including thousands of peer-reviewed journals

Add "film criticism" to your search to focus your results.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
JSTOR
Fulltext archive of core scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences and sciences, as well as 19th century British pamphlets.

Adding the phrase "film criticism" to your search will focus your results.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, staff, and alumni of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
Art Full Text and Art Index Retrospective
Search across both Art Full Text (AFT) and Art Index Retrospective (AIR) bibliographic databases in a single search. AFT & AIR index articles, art reproductions, and provide article abstracts for periodicals and art dissertations, including peer-reviewed journals.

Add "film criticism" to your search to focus your results.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
Erudit
A collection of over 170 scholarly electronic journals, several books and proceedings, primarily published in Quebec and Canada in the French language and covering a wide range of disciplines in the human, social and natural sciences.

Add "film criticism" to your search to focus your results.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, staff, and alumni of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.

Persee
Persee is a digital library of open access, mostly French-language scholarly journals, established by the Ministry of National Education of France in 2005. It is maintained by the Ecole Normale Superieure de Lyon, French National Centre for Scientific Research, and University of Lyon. It is one of the largest Francophone portals dedicated to human and social sciences, offering c. 600,000 freely available documents.
La Cinémathèque Française
France's national film archive holds one of the largest archives of film documents and film-related objects in the world.

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses: Global is the official dissertations archive for the Library of Congress, and includes millions of citations to dissertations and theses from 1861 to present. Over a million of these are available in full text, including the majority of theses added since 1997. Content is from North America and Europe, and also now includes full coverage of the UK and Ireland.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.

Film Review Index by Patricia K. Hanson; Stephen L. Hanson
A useful finding tool to locate film reviews published between 1882-1949
Index to motion pictures reviewed by Variety, 1907-1980 by Max Joseph Alvarez
Excellent finding aid to older film reviews.

Revues.org - Journals
French portal to open access journals in the humanities and social sciences. Developed by Cleo (Centre pour l'édition électronique ouverte). Journals and books.

NYTimes.com
The online version of the New York Times includes the same articles, features, and images that appear in the print edition, as well as an array of additional still image, video, audio, and data content. Content includes the current online edition, and searchable archive to the papers inception in 1851.
Access Note: Users must register and create a personal account for access through the library's subscription to the New York Times in Education program. Instructions--go to: accessnyt.com; search for and select University of Saskatchewan from the list of educational institutions; click "create account" and complete fields: you must use a valid USASK email address (usask.ca); verify your account through email message--you will receive a confirmation email to complete setup. NOTE: individual registration expires after one year and must be renewed.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
American Film Scripts Online (AFSO)
A collection of scripts with detailed, fielded information on scenes, characters and people related to the scripts, including facsimile images of the screenplays. Most scripts have never before been published, may have won a major award, been critically acclaimed or had some historical, sociological significance.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, staff, and alumni of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.

The Difference between a review and criticism

The words "reviews: and "criticism" are often used interchangeably, but they are significant differences between them.

Film reviews are written for the general public and appear in newspapers, magazines or online around the time the film is released in theatres. Their purpose is to describe the plot, characters, director, etc in order to help determine whether or not a film should be seen.

Film criticism is the academic study, interpretation and evaluation of a film with regard to issues such as historical context, theory or technical analysis. Film criticism is published in books or scholarly journals. It may sometimes address a specific aspect of a film or focus on the work of a particular director or genre. Critical reviews may be published many years after a film is released.

Research ProTips!

Finding film criticism may require that you add the following to your search: (criticism OR critique OR review OR analysis OR interpretation); e.g. Amélie AND (criticism OR critique OR review OR analysis OR interpretation)
Use quotation marks around the title of the film; e.g., "Trois couleurs: bleu"
For foreign films, search for both the English and original language title; e.g., Le Mépris OR Contempt
Multiple films may have the same title; e.g., Ben-Hur (1925) and Ben-Hur (1959). Use the date and/or the director's name to narrow your search.

Image

Source: Le cinéma Gaumont Palace - Paris - 1912 by Maurice Terrien