French Cinema/Films: Find Books

Find Books at USask

To be comprehensive and find digital or ebooks on your topic, also try searching:

ACUP/APUC eBound Collection
A collection of over 3,000 ebooks published by Association of Canadian University Presses/Association Des Presses Universitaires Canadiennes (ACUP/APUC) publishers. Comprises works published since 2014.
License Information: This license was negotiated by the Canadian Research Knowledge Network (CRKN). Restrictions to the number of simultaneous users vary. Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, alumni patrons, and to "walk-in" users of the University of Saskatchewan Library for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. It is accessible in the library, on campus, and remotely. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and International Copyright law.
SpringerLink: Books
Access Springer's very large and growing collection of electronic books, reference works, and book series, covering primarily science, technology, and medicine and related topics, but also the arts and humanities, and social sciences.
Access Note: to access titles the University of Saskatchewan Library has purchased access to, uncheck the box beside "Include Preview-Only content" at the top of the left menu column.
Access Note: Faculty and students may purchase a print-on-demand quality copy of most Springer ebooks the Library has purchased, for a small fee (US$24.95). SEE MyCopy information on the results page. Image rich and long ebooks may not be available for purchase.
License Information: There are no restrictions to the number of simultaneous users. Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. It is accessible in the library, on campus, and remotely. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and International Copyright law.
Taylor & Francis eBooks
A collection of eBooks from across the Humanities, Social Sciences, Education, Behavioural Sciences, Built Environment, and Law. Includes eBooks formerly hosted on CRCnetBASE including select years of AGRICULTUREnetBASE (through 2013), COMPUTERSCIENCEnetBASE (through 2012), FOODnetBASE (current), VETnetBASE (through 2013), and WATERnetBASE (through 2011 & 2013).
License Information: There are no restrictions to the number of simultaneous users. Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and to "walk-in" users of the University of Saskatchewan Library for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. It is accessible in the library, on campus, and remotely. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and International Copyright law.
Cambridge Books
Cambridge University Press publishes a wide range of research monographs, academic reference, textbooks, books for professionals, and large numbers of books aimed at graduate students. We publish more than 30,000 ebooks for the global market, with 1,500 new titles added on average each year alongside our print publications.
License Information: There are no restrictions to the number of simultaneous users. Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and to "walk-in" users of the University of Saskatchewan Library for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. It is accessible in the library, on campus, and remotely. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content, including the downloading of a full issue, is not permitted by Canadian and International Copyright law.
Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB)
The Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB) provides a searchable index to peer-reviewed monographs and edited volumes published under an open access model, with links to the full texts of the publications at the publisher’s website or repository.
OAPEN ebooks are also available via this entry.
License Information: This is an Open Access resource freely available on the Internet.
Duke University Press Books and Journals
Access to over 1000 electronic books and journals published by Duke University Press in the humanities and social sciences, including its full backlist of titles currently available as electronic books. Approximately 100 titles are added annually.
Access Note: To access added ebrary functionality, you must self-register (free) and sign-in. To browse a list of ebooks by Duke University Press, select Advanced search and the Publisher filter and search on the publisher name. SEE the ebrary details page for more information about the host interface.
License Information: There are no restrictions to the number of simultaneous users. Access is restricted to current students, faculty, staff, and alumni of the University of Saskatchewan, and to "walk-in" users of the University of Saskatchewan Library for their occasional use, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. It is accessible in the library, on campus, and remotely. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and International Copyright law.
eBook Central
A platform hosting a growing multidisciplinary collection of electronic books from a range of publishers. This resource used to be ebrary.
Access Note: To access added functionality, you must self-register (free) and sign-in.
Access Note: To download a book, Adobe Digital Editions software is required. To read off-line, download the Bluefire app for iOS or Android.
License Information: Access to an individual title is restricted to one or more simultaneous users depending on the number of copies the Library has acquired. Access to the full text of licensed titles is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff and affiliated colleges of the University of Saskatchewan and to "walk-in" users of the University of Saskatchewan Library for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and International Copyright Law.
Erudit
A collection of over 170 scholarly electronic journals, several books and proceedings, primarily published in Quebec and Canada in the French language and covering a wide range of disciplines in the human, social and natural sciences. Also includes a portal to french language theses available from Quebec and international locations. The Quebec journals are supported by the Fonds quebecois de rechercher sur la societ et la culture (Quebec fund for research on society and culture). Includes 3 collections: Scholarly Journals, Scholarly Journals (Additional Titles), Cultural Magazines. Access Note: A search in rudit will permit authorized users to retrieve articles published in NRC Research Press, and vice versa.
License Information: This license was negotiated by the Canadian Research Knowledge Network for its Digital Content Infrastructure for the Humanities and Social Sciences. There are no restrictions to the number of simultaneous users. Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, alumni patrons, and to "walk-in" users of the University of Saskatchewan Library for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. It is accessible in the library, on campus, and remotely. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and International Copyright law.

Journal archives are available for all other users as open access via www.erudit.org.
HathiTrust
The HathiTrust collection is comprised of over 17 million volumes in hundreds of languages. The titles are digitized versions of print books and serials from the collections of over 50 academic and research libraries around the world. The collection covers a wide range of disciplines – including Languages and Literature, Social Sciences, Sciences, and Arts – in hundreds of languages (51% of the collection is in English, with large numbers of volumes in French, German, Spanish, Chinese, and Russian) and includes 1.3 million US federal government documents. Access Note: Click on the yellow Log In button and select University of Saskatchewan as your Partner Institution.
License Information: There are no restrictions to the number of simultaneous users. Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and to "walk-in" users of the University of Saskatchewan Library for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. It is accessible in the library, on campus, and remotely. Copyright varies for works in HathiTrust. Consult the terms of use on the HathiTrust site for guidance. Images, even in public domain works, may be subject to copyright. Permission should be obtained from the copyright holder prior to the use of images. Include “courtesy of HathiTrust” to your citation for images of works.
Gale EBooks (GE)
A collection of electronic reference titles published by Gale or an affiliated publisher. The Library subscribes to selected titles only of the available titles.
License Information: Selected titles were acquired by the Saskatchewan Multitype Library Database Licensing Project (MDLP). MDLP supported titles are restricted to 6 simultaneous users (shared across Saskatchewan member libraries). There are no restrictions to the number of simultaneous users for titles acquired by the Library. Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and to walk-in users of the University of Saskatchewan Library for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. It is accessible in the library, on campus, and remotely. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and International Copyright law.

Searching the library for books effectively

The University of Saskatchewan library has a significant collection of resources (print and electronic) that discuss French Cinema. Searching USearch (the large search box on the library's main home page or using the search box to the left) will bring back books, articles, and more.

To make your searching effective, try the following search terms:

Motion pictures—France [general works about French films shown in France or produced by French companies]

Motion pictures—France—history

Motion pictures—France—history—20^th century

Motion pictures—France—influence

Motion pictures, French [French produced films shown outside of France]

Motion pictures—history

[Name of film production company]

National characteristics, French, in motion pictures

[Person’s last name, first name] in motion pictures [films about particular people]

[Place] in motion pictures [films about particular places]

Silent films--France