French Cinema/Films: Books to get you started

This invaluable resource by one of the world's leading experts in French cinema presents a coherent overview of French cinema in the 20th century and its place and function in French society. Each filmography includes 101 films listed chronologically (Volume 1: 1929-1939 and Volume 2: 1940-1958) and provides accessible points of entry into the remarkable world of 20th-century French cinema. All entries contain a list of cast members and characters, production details, an overview of the film's cultural and historical significance, and a critical summary of the film's plot and narrative structure. Each volume includes an appendix listing rewards earned and an extensive reference list for further reading and research.

A Companion to Contemporary French Cinema A Companion to Contemporary French Cinema presents a comprehensive collection of original essays addressing all aspects of French cinema from 1990 to the present day.ng techniques that have emerged since the New Wave era. Themes and topics covered include the social, political, and cultural contexts of recent French cinema; contemporary filmmakers and performers; genres, cycles, and cinematic forms; gender and sexuality; and emerging trends and innovative new filmmaking forms.

This book's 30 peer-reviewed chapters offer cutting-edge research and original perspectives on the major concerns in early cinema studies, and take an ambitious look at ideas and themes that will lead discussions about early cinema into the future.

This fourth edition of an irreplaceable reference work presents an accurate and as complete as possible inventory of Quebec cinema, from the beginnings until the year 2006. Cinephiles will find gathered in a single volume essential data on directors, screenwriters, actors, producers and technicians, including videography, musicography and bibliography. Articles are also devoted to themes such as cinemas, festivals, film clubs, censorship, animated cinema, experimental cinema, gay cinema, distribution, co-production, professional associations and groups. and public bodies.

L'auteure met l'accent sur la dimension communautaire du travail de ces cinéastes et sur le désir de communauté du public de cette époque. Grâce à une approche interdisciplinaire, elle dévoile les fondations d'une cinématographie de proximité qui fait une large place à la production de lien social.

A History of the French New Wave Cinema looks at the social, economic, and aesthetic mechanisms that shaped French film in the 1950s, as well as detailed studies of the most important New Wave movies of the late 1950s and early 1960s.

This work is intended both as a teaching tool and as a reference for film and literature courses. It contains a list of three hundred francophone women directors from all over the world, and the titles of their films. Dates, descriptions, and critical comments on many of the films are included, as well as a glossary of film terms, questions for film analysis, sample syllabi, and an extensive bibliography.

Provides a cross-section of contemporary American film criticism from 1896-1960. The volumes reprint reviews in their entirety from periodicals such as Photoplay, Film Reports, The Moving Picture World, Variety, and The New York Times. Of immense value for gauging contemporary reaction--both popular and serious--to the best-known films of the past.