Geography & Planning: Find Journal Articles

Databases for finding articles

Core
Additional

Web of Science Core Collection
Collection of citation databases, providing abstracts and indexing and cited reference searching to over 10,000 high impact scholarly research journals worldwide, including Open Access journals and over 110,000 conference proceedings, and covering topics in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities.
License Information: This license was negotiated by the Canadian Research Knowledge Network. There are no restrictions to the number of simultaneous users. Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and to "walk-in" users of the University of Saskatchewan Library for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. It is accessible in the library, on campus, and remotely. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content, including the downloading of a full issue, is not permitted by Canadian and International Copyright law.
Scopus
A very large abstract and index database of research literature and quality web sources covering the science, technology, and medicine (STM), and social sciences.
License Information: This license was negotiated by the Canadian Research Knowledge Network. There are no restrictions to the number of simultaneous users. Access is restricted to current students, faculty, staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and to "walk-in" users of the University of Saskatchewan Library for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. It is accessible in the library, on campus, and remotely. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content, including the downloading of a full issue, is not permitted by Canadian and International Copyright law.
ScienceDirect
Science Direct is a portal to scholarly journals, book series, and ebooks published by Elsevier and affiliated publishers primarily covering science, technology, and medicine and the social sciences.
License Information: This license was negotiated by the Canadian Research Knowledge Network. There are no restrictions to the number of simultaneous users. Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and to "walk-in" users of the University of Saskatchewan Library for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. It is accessible in the library, on campus, and remotely. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and International Copyright law.
GeoRef & GeoRef in Process
An abstract and indexing database, established by the American Geological Institute (AGI) offering comprehensive access to the geoscience literature of the world, including journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports and theses. The geology of North America is covered back to 1669, and coverage for the rest of the world back to 1933.

GeoRef in Process is a supplement to GeoRef and contains unedited records that are still in the process of being indexed before being added to GeoRef.
License Information: There are no restrictions to the number of simultaneous users. Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and to "walk-in" users of the University of Saskatchewan Library for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. It is accessible in the library, on campus, and remotely. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and International Copyright law.
Canadian Science Publishing Journals
Collection of 15 electronic journals published by NRC Research Press (National Research Council Canada) and 11 journals from client publishers, covering biological and natural sciences topics.
License Information: This license negotiated by the Canadian Research Knowledge Network (CRKN). There are no restrictions to the number of simultaneous users. Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, alumni patrons, and to "walk-in" users of the University of Saskatchewan Library for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. It is accessible in the library, on campus, and remotely. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and International Copyright law.
SpringerLink: Journals & Journal Archives
A collection of over 2,000 scholarly science, technology, and medicine electronic journals published by Springer (and the former Kluwer Academic Publishers). Includes journal archives back to volume 1, issue 1.
Access Note: to access titles the University of Saskatchewan Library has purchased access to, uncheck the box beside "Include Preview-Only content" at the top of the left menu column.
License Information: There are no restrictions to the number of simultaneous users. Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and to "walk-in" users of the University of Saskatchewan Library for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. It is accessible in the library, on campus, and remotely. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and International Copyright law.
Arctic & Antarctic Regions
A collection of international polar databases covering research from multiple disciplines on cold regions anywhere, from temperate regions with cold winters to the Himalayas of Tibet.
License Information: There are no restrictions to the number of simultaneous users. Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and to "walk-in" users of the University of Saskatchewan Library for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. It is accessible in the library, on campus, and remotely. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content, including the downloading of a full issue, is not permitted by Canadian and International Copyright law.

Academic Search Complete (ASC)
A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database indexing journals, including thousands of peer-reviewed journals. Abstracts and indexes are also included for monographs, conference proceedings, and reports.
License Information: There are no restrictions to the number of simultaneous users. Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and to walk-in users of the University of Saskatchewan Library for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. It is accessible in the library, on campus, and remotely. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and International Copyright law.
GreenFILE
This free research database provides scholarly, government and general-interest sources covering the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and governments and what can be done at each level to minimize negative impacts.
License Information: The database provides indexing and abstracts as well as Open Access full text for some records. For non-commercial use only. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and International Copyright law.
PAIS Index
Abstract and Index bibliographic database covering public affairs, public and social policies, international relations. It has an archive going back to 1915.

Formerly PAIS International & PAIS Archive.
License Information: There are no restrictions to the number of simultaneous users. Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and to "walk-in" users of the University of Saskatchewan Library for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. It is accessible in the library, on campus, and remotely. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content, including the downloading of a full issue, is not permitted by Canadian and International Copyright law.
Inspec & Inspec Archive
A bibliographic database providing access to the world's scientific literature in electrical engineering, electronics, physics, control engineering, information technology, communications, computers, computing, and manufacturing and production engineering.
Please Note: Arrangements for permission to text and data mine this resource can be made with the publisher. Contact the library at USask EResources in advance to arrange these permissions.
License Information: There are no restrictions to the number of simultaneous users. Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and to "walk-in" users of the University of Saskatchewan Library for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. It is accessible in the library, on campus, and remotely. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content, including the downloading of a full issue, is not permitted by Canadian and International Copyright law.
CABI: CAB Abstracts & CAB Abstracts Archive
Index and abstract database to agriculture, forestry, and biosciences literature, including: journals, books, conference proceedings, reports, and patents. Includes literature from over 140 countries in more than 40 languages. Part of the Web of Knowledge.
License Information: There are no restrictions to the number of simultaneous users. Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and to "walk-in" users of the University of Saskatchewan Library for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. It is accessible in the library, on campus, and remotely. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and International Copyright law.
BioOne Journals
A collection of high-impact, peer-reviewed, scholarly journals and bulletins from small societies and non-commercial publishers covering the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences, plus high quality open access journals.
License Information: There are no restrictions to the number of simultaneous users. Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and to "walk-in" users of the University of Saskatchewan Library for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. It is accessible in the library, on campus, and remotely.. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content, including the downloading of a full issue, is not permitted by Canadian and International Copyright law.
IEEE/IET Electronic Library (IEL)
Allows full-text access to recent and some historical content including: IEEE journals, transactions, and magazines; IEEE conference proceedings; IET journals, transactions, and magazines; IET conference proceedings; and IEEE published standards (current + archived). Access Note: See beta version instructions for IEEE Xplore Mobile access (search only) from your mobile device (eg. iPhone, Blackberry). Access Note: IEEE will no longer provide support for IE11 as of May 31, 2022. It is reccomended you upgrade to a different version of the browser prior to May 31, 2022.
License Information: Access is restricted to fifteen (15) simultaneous users. Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and to "walk-in" users of the University of Saskatchewan Library for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. It is accessible in the library, on campus, and remotely. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content, including the downloading of a full issue, is not permitted by Canadian and International Copyright law.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar is a quick and easy way to broadly search for scholarly literature in one place.

While it does not provide comprehensive coverage of the literature of any particular discipline, it's often a good starting point when you are new to a topic. It's also a great tool to use when you are tracking down a specific citation.

Make sure you update your Google Scholar settings to ensure seamless access to University Library subscribed content.

Google Scholar Search Tips
Get the most out of Google Scholar with some helpful tips on searches, email alerts, citation export, and more.

Picture

Outside of Porto, Portugal